PDA

View Full Version : Lightwave Pipeline.

stevenpalomino
05-16-2010, 03:49 AM
Hey everyone,

I imagine most of you are in the CG industry and have quite a bit of knowledge. I'm just starting out and currently attending Full Sail University and getting my Computer Animation degree. They teach Maya but I've really just been set on Lightwave since I've seen it in action!

I was wondering if y'all could share your knowledge on how seamlessly (or not) Lightwave integrates with other 3D software and post-production software (nuke, fusion, etc.).

Also, something else has come to my attention. Compositing doesn't seem to be as easy in LW than other 3D apps (Like Maya for example) where you just assign a "Use background" shader and everything is set. It seems like you have to fiddle with the luminance and diffuse settings to get it just right. Am I missing anything?

Finally, how does Lightwave stack up in the CG industry as far as film and commercial advertisement goes? My areas of interest are advertisement and Visual Effects. I know Lightwave is known for VFX but is there something that I should be aware of that it can't do that would give me problems in those areas?

Thanks in advance, I really respect all of you since I've seen a lot of y'alls work:)
Steven

OnlineRender
05-16-2010, 09:42 AM
Hmm kinda think it strange that nobody has replied ,maybe there thinking up a good answer .

Firstly Learn Maya / max / mostAD products, infact every app you can get your hands on, not threw choice but to keep up with the mass'es !

in short LW can fit into any pipeline , it's just matter of tweaks ,pluggin , scripts , and HOPE , LW straight out of the box , is a solid animation tool , with probably one of the best render engines built to date , although saying that Blender is slowly catching up on that aspect . But Core has VPR and Bullet physics now implemented .

Riggin is a big *meh* although IK is pretty good ,splinegod would be better person to ask ,on that subject .