PDA

View Full Version : MeshMan v1



VonBon
05-14-2010, 02:07 PM
Well, me being such a sucker. Im posting the MeshMan v1
here for you folks to Download.

I hope it is useful to someone. :beerchug:

VonBon
05-14-2010, 03:29 PM
Ah, im sure there will be much critique.

don't just bash it but also give me some ideas or
send me some files to make it better.

lets be constructive

VonBon
05-14-2010, 03:30 PM
O yea, Rebel Hill
I do expect to see what you do with it :D

the3dwiz
05-15-2010, 09:29 AM
Thanks for the offer!

I will shure have a look in it, as soon as i have more Time!(in about 2-3 Weeks, b-cause i hope to finish my Bachelor of Gamedesign until then:-)

Toonwonder
05-15-2010, 07:27 PM
Very nice! I haven't played with a rigg like this much but seems to be working nicely so far! Well done.

OnlineRender
05-16-2010, 10:26 AM
Well, me being such a sucker. Im posting the MeshMan v1
here for you folks to Download.

I hope it is useful to someone. :beerchug:

Of course it useful , anything to do with riggin is useful full stop .Thank U .

I thought u were chargin 4 this ?

VonBon
05-17-2010, 09:37 AM
I thought u were chargin 4 this ?

;D lets say there wasn't much intrest.

but I thought it would never be able to do
what i want it to do if people don't have it,
so I released it.

OnlineRender
05-17-2010, 09:42 AM
;D lets say there wasn't much intrest.

but I thought it would never be able to do
what i want it to do if people don't have it,
so I released it.

Booo , oh well Free's Good :D

, you need audio on your YT videos :D

Castius
05-17-2010, 10:33 AM
Sorry for the lack of interest. Hopefully after the next release Newtek can get some new sales and these types of products will be much more fruitful.

In the mean time it's very good of you to decide to release it. :thumbsup:

VonBon
05-17-2010, 04:49 PM
you need audio on your YT videos :D


:lol: I'm afraid there would be too many jokes about my "country slang".

OnlineRender
05-17-2010, 05:00 PM
:lol: I'm afraid there would be too many jokes about my "country slang".

you heard my accent ? :D

oliversimonnet
05-17-2010, 05:02 PM
;D lets say there wasn't much intrest.

but I thought it would never be able to do
what i want it to do if people don't have it,
so I released it.

i was interested :) :D

OnlineRender
05-18-2010, 04:03 AM
Ok i have meshman infront of me for like 3 hrs ,the other 2hrs I want to play with turbulence :D! im going to try and do some sort of CA *newbie would be a good term * .

the rigs decent , a little bit of poppin on the shoulder and the ankles , but it moves decent enough ! .

I have some quick fire questions .

I gather I can take the model file into zbrush and create a displacement map and normal map ,aslong as i keep the base topology ?

Newbie Riggin questions :D

How do i move the actual obj , for example I want him to move forward , but when i move the obj the IK goals attached to the feet keep it restrained , do I attach a null to the obj and parent it to that ?

Suggestion : A morph mixer or slider : that opens and closes the hands "just for speed "

I have more RSVP :D

VonBon
05-18-2010, 08:27 AM
Thanks for the feed back.

As for ZBrush, yes you can.
Although I've been doing some test.
I made a UV in a style to get higher resolution maps
from ZBrush (using multiple UV's) but when i apply them
in LW i can see the UV seems.

I haven't tried a ZBrush made UV yet though.

to move the whole object. First open up your Classic Scene Editor
so you can see everything, because some stuff i locked and made hidden.
Then just select the [MeshMan_v1.0] object at the top.

I'll get something done with those hands.

I have a question. How does the slider panel work on everyone elses
computer. on mine i have to select another object first then click on
the slider panel in order for me to be able to select it.
also in a perspective view i can't select it at all.

OnlineRender
05-18-2010, 09:24 AM
Thanks for the feed back.


I have a question. How does the slider panel work on everyone elses
computer. on mine i have to select another object first then click on
the slider panel in order for me to be able to select it.
also in a perspective view i can't select it at all.

Ye I noticed that aswell , sometime anoying , i cant say i have used the slider much .. .


I was thinking about the hands nothing exciting just a slider which lets you open and close the hand *make a fist * . .

Philbert
05-19-2010, 12:41 PM
So if I wanted to use this with my own character, I just give my character the same weight maps and then "Replace With Object"? Also is there any instruction on how you're supposed to use each handle? Like I know some rigs that I've seen you're only supposed to rotate a specific handle, not move it or anything else.

VonBon
05-20-2010, 11:21 AM
To do your own, I would just make sure you have good poly flow mainly
in the areas of major deformation (like the joints).

I have found that when using weight maps that they perform better
when polygon points are further away from each other, giving them
room to collapse in on themselves.

So i geuss you could take your character and rework the joint areas
so that they have less detail so you can get better deforms.

Post a pic of it.

Im making some adjustments to the rig and this time i'll post a
instructional video.

Philbert
05-20-2010, 11:33 AM
Thanks, I don't actually have a specific character I wanted to do this with, I just wanted to know how this rig is meant to be used. Obviously if I was only using it with the included character model it would be rather limited.

VonBon
05-20-2010, 01:04 PM
My intent was to have a base mesh that i could take into
ZBrush to sculpt/paint to create different characters
using the same mesh and rig.

Trying to figure out a workflow to create chracters fast and easy.

also thinking that if it works out right then we could create animation
databases or share displacement/color maps.

pop in a new Displacement/color map and you have a new character,
but you don't have to worry about setting it up. Then you can browse
a database of animations.

Still working on it though.

Philbert
05-20-2010, 01:05 PM
Ah I see. I don't use zbrush for my sculpting so I will have to see what I can do.