PDA

View Full Version : Dividing One Object into Two?

Holdesta
05-11-2010, 11:53 AM
Hello...I am brand new to LW and I am self teaching so the first I am sure of many questions. I have 9.6....I leaarned how to manipulate a ball yeasterday into the shape of a mushroom:

Question how do I now seperate the stem of the mushroom from the top to make two objects? Thanks :D

cagey5
05-11-2010, 11:57 AM
If it's for surfacing purposes there's no need to divide it, just hi-light all the polygons that make up the stem and hit 'q'. This will allow you to name and therefore surface that area different to the mushroom head.
If you definitely want to divide it physically then hi-light as before and 'cut' [Ctl x] the polys before pasting them into a new layer or object.

Holdesta
05-11-2010, 02:39 PM
Both those options worked perfect thanks I now have a stem and top on two layers.

Next query:

Is each layer in LW an Object as opposed to each unit on a layer? IE a box and ball on the same layer is an A Object or B Two Objects on the same layer? Just trying to understand how the software groups object vs units

BeeVee
05-11-2010, 02:54 PM
Yes, once in Layout, each Modeler layer is a separate object. If you only want one object, you can cut and paste back into the same layer (easiest way for multiple layers is to make them all foreground; cut; then just select layer 1; paste).

B

liquidpope
05-11-2010, 02:57 PM
Is each layer in LW an Object as opposed to each unit on a layer? IE a box and ball on the same layer is an A Object or B Two Objects on the same layer? Just trying to understand how the software groups object vs units

Howdy, and welcome!
A box and ball on the same layer are one object.
A box and ball on separate layers are one "model", but separate objects within that model.
I'll try to make up some examples later tonight.

Holdesta
05-11-2010, 03:02 PM