PDA

View Full Version : venturing into video; need advice

illusory
09-12-2003, 12:13 AM
Greetings,

I've been working with 3D stills, first with other progs, now with Lightwave (which I love), for some years, but planning
to move into animation. I'm looking for advice regarding what software I need for the following:

1. I'd like to edit and composite various LW animations together, along with stills (various sources) and video from a
Hi-8 camera. I have a card which will capture the Hi-8.

2. I would need good compositing options, including a chroma-key type composite, and some type of 'layering' with
transparency, dissolve, etc., and hopefully some direct manipulation of frame images at times.

3. I'm looking for ease of use, design of the program should offer good visual feedback and easy access to features,
learning curve not too laborious, stifling, etc. I'll need to produce some results reasonably promptly.
Bear in mind i'm new at this..but I need a professional result.

4. My output would be to super video cd, or dvd.

5. I need to keep the cost down below, say, $800.

I've heard about VT, but don't know if the components are available separately, the cost is too great otherwise. What are
my best choices here? Adobe Premiere? or what? I need it to work well with LW obviously.

I'd welcome any knowledgeable advice.
thanks,
NJ

Mylenium
09-12-2003, 04:27 AM