PDA

View Full Version : learning photorealistic texturing

Soth
04-26-2010, 10:14 PM
Hi,
I am finishing my current job in may and I would like to add few photo-realistic architectural visualisations to my portfolio. But, I have no experience in photo-realistic texturing...

I have googled a bit but I seem to not be able to find any tutorials that will aim to teach about architecture/interior rendering with a big stress on quality...

How to get there quickly? I would love to find video tutorials covering it but website or book would do.

PS I am quite sure that I can manage lighting, texturing is what I am heaving problems with.

sampei
04-26-2010, 10:21 PM
I'm also interested in this, let's hope Iain reads it :D

Soth
04-26-2010, 11:01 PM
...found this, texturing/lighting starts from part 11
http://www.simplylightwave.com/movie_pages/tutorial.mhtml?tut_id=565

sampei
04-28-2010, 01:40 PM
any good ?

Soth
05-02-2010, 01:34 AM
gimme couple more weeks, busy, but ill come back to you ;)

gordonrobb
05-02-2010, 02:26 AM
I have it. Have started teh texturing part. It is definately aimed at getting photorealistic. Best part is the set up for working with texturing.

Iain
05-02-2010, 04:07 AM
Not really much help I know, but the only advice I would give is to be very thorough.

Realism isn't difficult, it just requires a very high level of detail in everything. Once you get experienced at it, you know exactly where and when you can skimp (usually in the modelling for me) but if you observe reality and copy it accurately in your modelling, texturing and lighting, you really can't go wrong.

Some pointers:

1: Make sure your model is as accurate as possible. We are all so familiar with living spaces and, crucially, their proportions, that when its wrong or unusual, it stands out a mile.

2: No sharp corners. A general modelling rule but very important for the same reason as above.