PDA

View Full Version : Color Maps

kcsull
04-24-2010, 06:15 AM
I'm new to LW ( since Aug.09 - my version is 9.6) and when I try to create a Vertex Color Map the surface selected turns black.I follow a web tutorial by William Vaughan exactly. I'm trying to learn the program from tutorials as I find in my case the official documentation is not newcomer friendly.Any advice would be appreciated.

BeeVee
04-26-2010, 02:46 PM
That might be completely normal? We need more information to be of more help. What video by William are you talking about, what are you trying to make, what are you trying to achieve with the Vertex Color Map? Lastly, a screenshot of your model would be helpful.

B

Snosrap
04-26-2010, 04:35 PM
Try this:

1. Create a box
2. Go to the Multiply tab and select Subdivide
3. select Metaform in the panel that opens up and hit OK
4. Repeat steps 2 and 3 several times – this should give a nice subdivided ball.
5. Go to the lower right W T M C S weight map selections and select C and in the dropdown select New
6. The Create Vertex Color Map panel will open up, select your Surface in the Apply To Surface dropdown and press Create
7. Go to the Map tab and select Airbrush
8. In the Numeric panel select a color and begin to paint on your subdivided mesh
9. Save object and send to Layout
10. Open Surface panel, select your surface and go to the Advance tab
11. Set the Vertex Color Map dropdown to Vertex Color (Or whatever you named it in step 6) and turn the percentage to 100%
12. Render

See if that works.

Hint: The more points in your object the more “resolution” you have so don’t be afraid to subdivide your object.

Good luck.

kcsull
04-27-2010, 05:56 AM
Texture: Introduction to Vertex Color Maps under Surfacing Texturing.Iwas trying to follow William's Tut and Apply some blush to the cheeks of a head model for practice.He can see where to airbrush but I cant with the surface turning black when I create the color map

Snosrap
04-27-2010, 06:26 AM