PDA

View Full Version : develop in modern way, all software

madrenderman
09-10-2003, 07:00 PM
i use lw from many many years, from 3.5 amiga.
i love lw, i think lw, i also have a lw jewel appended at my neck
but...
lw must be developed in modern way

during my using i find many troubles derived from freaked choise of developing.

i'm a 3d artist which during it's life teach also sculpting, developing in html, C++ and visual basic, and i did a lot of things, i know how to develop a software, and during using of lw i see error that i teached to my guys in the second day
ERROR CHECK AND PREVENCTION!!!!
holy ****!

lw seems not have any error check and verifying, memory using strange, and not use correctly virtual memory.

1) lw must can use or write (option) on disk render buffer, if you try to use some plugin to save a multipass images at print resolution, lw do error of not enought memory (on 2gb of ram and 12gb of virtual memory of my computer....)
1bis) if screamernet not have enought memory to load plugin, it must save a simple flx file, not skip saving
2) lw must check before save if path exist and if have enought space, not crash or avoid to save with generic plugin error, without a correct error message
3) lw must have advanced routines error, not crash or generic message
4) spot light must work with trasprent obj (like you can do with G2) and shadow map images must be accessible from processing tab, to apply texture or more interesting procedural and gradient effects on shadow
5) check all bug and before to add more features, is better to do full working actual features.
6) integrate plugin, and will do it inner core lw, not a wild list of single to single plugin which cannot work togheter (see morph mixer and sockmonkey, very useful if you can combine, but one overwrite other point displacement)