PDA

View Full Version : Can someone help PLease?

Tony3d
04-16-2010, 07:33 AM
Ok, this is driving me crazy. I can't for the life of me get these results. How does one model these spheres to go up into that spider design evenly, so they all look exactly the same. this is driving me nuts! Can anyone help me with this? I've been modeling for many years, and it suprises me sometimes how little I actually know.

eblu
04-16-2010, 09:17 AM
I would probably bridge two sets of edges (one a deleted poly in the sphere, the other a deleted poly in the triangular hub) for each arc, then use bandsaw pro to subdivide it once and then pull the new points up to add the arc.

assuming I'd be using Sub-ds or maybe subdividing in some other way, down the road.

sandman300
04-16-2010, 11:04 AM
If I were trying to model what you have in the picture. I'd model 1/3 of it and them radial array it.

Tony3d
04-18-2010, 09:51 AM
I would probably bridge two sets of edges (one a deleted poly in the sphere, the other a deleted poly in the triangular hub) for each arc, then use bandsaw pro to subdivide it once and then pull the new points up to add the arc.

assuming I'd be using Sub-ds or maybe subdividing in some other way, down the road.
I really like this idea, but am not quite following the bandsaw thing. Can you elaborate on that a bit with maybe a sample or two. Thanks much.

Tony3d
04-19-2010, 01:23 PM
I really like this idea, but am not quite following the bandsaw thing. Can you elaborate on that a bit with maybe a sample or two. Thanks much.

I don't get it, and this looks like crap. Need a Tutorial I guess.

JeffrySG
04-19-2010, 03:02 PM
Something like this might get you started. You could make the balls bigger or smaller and adjust the bridges as well.

probiner
04-19-2010, 07:40 PM
I think this video Jeffry did has the right mentality. http://www.pixelandpoly.com/video012.html.