PDA

View Full Version : subdividing each RealFlow object



erikals
04-15-2010, 06:37 AM
mornin'

i had an idea of subdividing each RF obj, (all 1000 of them) for then to add a procedural displacement texture.
(to add fake detail)

unfortunately i'm not sure just how to do it automatically.

-import .obj objects in Layout
-export .lwo objects from Layout (unless RF exports .lwo natively, can't recall)
(so that part is ok...)

however what i need in Modeler is a script to batch open each individual .lwo, subdivide it, and close it.

is there any script that does this, or something close, or would it be possible to do this in a search and replace editor?

Jockomo
04-15-2010, 07:59 AM
It would be much easier to step back into realflow and have it calculate it there.
Then use your new objects.

Likewise, if you are going to bother to calculate all of those polys, why fake the details with a proceedural displacement, when you can up your resolution in RF and get more realistic details.

You should be exporting your objects as .lwo from RF

xchrisx
04-16-2010, 04:31 PM
i dont think a script to open an object, sub d it, and close it would be hard to make. which subd would you want it to do, facet, smooth, metaform?

xchrisx
04-16-2010, 07:59 PM
here is a quick script i made to automate some of the process. i made it use the Metaform type subd, but it can easily be changed to the other types.

erikals
04-17-2010, 08:09 AM
thank you,
i also got a link in another thread to this page,
http://www.blochi.com/gfx/subpatcher_en.html
which should fix it

but more scripts equals more options,
thank you, will have a look http://erikalstad.com/backup/anims.php_files/smile.gif

xchrisx
04-19-2010, 11:35 AM
oh if you want it to be subpatched then i would have to change a line in my script. i thought you wanted it subdivided.

erikals
04-19-2010, 12:21 PM
np, both are good :]

Blochi
05-14-2010, 11:00 AM
Hehe, funny you found my SubPatcher (http://www.blochi.com/gfx/subpatcher_en.html).

Indeed, converting RealFlow sequences to subpatches is exactly what that script was written for. You just load the first object from the sequence (it should be numbered with three digits, without any missing in-betweens), and then it will auto-detect how far that sequence goes.

Now, since this is the LScript list - let me brag about the technical achievement here ;) ... because it doesn't actually load / edit / save each object, instead it will edit the objects on disk directly in binary mode and flip only those bytes that make a Poly into a SubPatch. Which gives it a huge speed advantage.

erikals
08-16-2012, 11:12 PM
thanks Blochi, realize i never got back to you on this one...

haven't gotten to test it just yet though, how time flies... :/