PDA

View Full Version : The Shining - elevator of blood

Mr Rid
04-11-2010, 02:52 AM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7049WVfSanM Select 720p and full screen.

This is a half-scale, CG sim that I did just for amusement in spare hours. I never expected it to look exactly like the real thing or to have taken it even this far. The RealFlow fluid sim uses only about 1.6 million particles and so the resulting meshes appear thicker and 'blobbyer' than an actual water-like liquid at this scale. I think at least ten million particles would begin to look convincing, but since this took about a month to calculate and render on my I7, 3.2gh quad core... :eek:

I rendered and made simple models of the hallway and furniture in LW 9.6, and post processing was applied in Fusion 6 in attempt to more resemble the original film. Many of the tiny droplets are voxels that were also thrown in.

To come up with the dimensions of the set, I studied each shot in The Shining of the various hallways and fixtures. I settled on a 50mm lens, and my guess is that it was a half scale miniature since Kubrick was a hardcore perfectionist and smaller scale liquids look progressively less realistic and blobby (the scale was also more RealFlow friendly).

The angles of the walls and lines on the floor indicated that the camera is not centered but was placed a few feet to the right and panned left to appear centered. Most viewers do not notice there are actually 3 different angles of this scene shown in the movie. This leads me to suspect there may have been another camera centered on the miniature set but the footage was not used, since that angle does not otherwise appear in the film.