PDA

View Full Version : Joining 2 boxes together, then subpatching

Tails
09-10-2003, 04:48 AM
Hi,

Newbie Tails here :) I started learning Lightwave with a short course just over a month ago, and love it! For a little while now though, I've been totally stuck on how to do this...

If I have a cube with 2 segments on every side for example, and want to connect it to a cube with just 1 segment on every side, and then subpatch it, how would I do that?

The four point triangle is perfect for flat surfaces, but creates a weird look when used on 3D cubes. Any thoughts?

The idea being I can have an arm with just one segment, then attach a hand with loads of segments for the fingers onto it. I'm aiming to animate the whole thing though, so I'd really rarther subpatch than freeze.

Thanks VERY much!!

munky
09-10-2003, 05:24 AM
if you stroll over to www.yahlls.com there are some downloadable pdf tuts about adding or removing detail from your meshes. They are very easy to understand (even I understood it first time) and will be just what you need. Stuff like how to go from three polys down to one and viceversa. Very useful.

regards

paul

Mylenium
09-10-2003, 05:28 AM
I don't think you're on the right track here. You would have to stitch things manually by building polygons from point selections. This is the only way to control the flow of the surface and have as many 4 point polys as possible. Tools like extender and bridge are making this task a bit easier. Another way would be to start with a simple subdivided box and then bevel out faces for the arms. These can then be refined further by cu´tting them with the knive.

Mylenium

munky
09-10-2003, 05:44 AM
Is this the sort of thing you want to do?

regards

paul

Tails
09-10-2003, 06:19 AM
Yeah first I created the body out of a cube with 3 segments all around (legs, arms, head). But when I reached the hand I was like... oh! I tried the Knife tool, but it seems pretty tricky to get right with subpatching.