PDA

View Full Version : Dithered Or Not Dithered…?



lasco
09-10-2003, 02:25 AM
Curious to see at what point the motion blur can slow a rendering…
even an medium AA may be fatser than a low with dithered motion blur instead
of normal !

few tests below…
(don't ask me what that scene is, it's a "randdom" addition of models
only for this test;) )

pixym
09-10-2003, 03:50 AM
Inetrresting Test Colas...

Beamtracer
09-10-2003, 06:08 AM
Lightwave's dithered motion blur is similar to rendering with fields, in that it is sampling more moments in time than what your frame rate is.

You'd expect dithered motion blur to take a lot longer.

lasco
09-10-2003, 08:24 AM
You said it Beam !
That's why my current wondering is : is it better or not to render MB in AFX ?

Seems it might be possible… though I have to make new tests
with LW using gradients in renderings instead of that bloody totally unusefull
Z depth buffer !!!!

PS : your new signature is cool, though you could add…"LW that is NOT optimized for 64 bits (besides do you know that even Panther won't be…)"

Beamtracer
09-10-2003, 03:23 PM
You can save time by rendering your motion blur in a 2D application like After Effects. There are some After Effects plug-ins that can fake it. If you can spare the rendering time, do it in Lightwave as it's more accurate.

Regarding 64-bit platforms... if an application can address over 4 gigs of RAM then it is a 64-bit app. No 32-bit app or OS can do this.

pixym
09-10-2003, 03:25 PM
Thank Beam...

lasco
09-10-2003, 03:35 PM
There are some After Effects plug-ins that can fake it.

any links ??

I'd be curious if there are tools that would fake MB in AFX
differently and / or better than with the idea I have in mind about it…

does them use buffers ? I guess that yes but which ones ?
I thought X motion and Y motion would be helpful but now I
got them in my AFX project I realize that's not so simple as there is
no way to "mix" them and get then a direction (which is my current issue…).
Else Z buffer is ****ty, I can have a more accurate one with gradients
but it anyway only helps for masks creation, not for the direction or amount
of blur…

so if you have any more tips about it Beam please would you mind
sharing with us and don't let me waste days to try things that you know(but I don't yet) they won't work…:D

PS : many serious people told me putting more than 2 Gb of RAM in a PC
was possible while not in Macs (until now) so what ?
Maybe yes I thinkI get it : more than 2 G in the computer yes but
not for a single app or OS, is that what you meant ?

Triple G
09-11-2003, 10:47 PM
Originally posted by lasco
any links ??

I'd be curious if there are tools that would fake MB in AFX
differently and / or better than with the idea I have in mind about it…

See it, buy it, use it, love it: ReelSmart Motion Blur (http://www.revisionfx.com/mblur.htm) :cool:

lasco
09-12-2003, 01:10 AM
Triple G > I was to say to you OK seems interesting but what about
rendering times for the use of such a plug…
But well I'll shut up about this question as I see there is
even a demo version available !!!

That's so great :) thanx !!!

(mmm… though I'm a bit afraid about that 16 bits images thing as
think they are not possible in Mac version of LW…!!)

a good site to bookmark anyway, thanx :)

Triple G
09-12-2003, 11:11 AM
It does add a bit to your AE render times, but it's nowhere near the amount of time it takes to render the motion blur in LW. Plus you have the ability to keyframe the amount of blur.

As for the 16bpc blurb on their site, it is worded a bit strange. If I understand it correctly, that's for the "Pro" version, and all they're saying is that if you happen to have 16bpc images, the plugin will work fine with them. If not, it still works great with "normal" 8bpc images. :)

CB_3D
09-12-2003, 01:35 PM
It´s fast, easy to use and delivers excellent results. You don´t need any buffer, just load up the sequence and the plug will figure out where to apply MB!

Love it!