PDA

View Full Version : Normal Cast Node, help,.. missing bump area



erikals
03-26-2010, 05:54 AM
...
urm, i have a small problem here,
does anyone know why this map doesn't produce bumps in the middle of the map?

(attached a small video preview of what i did, just for the curious/ newbies ones)


http://www.newtek.com/forums/attachment.php?attachmentid=83445&stc=1&d=1269604162

probiner
03-26-2010, 06:22 AM
Node tree?

erikals
03-26-2010, 06:29 AM
eh? no comprende...

edit: i fixed it somehow, by turning off unseen by rays, maybe that was it, will post scene in a bit.

zarti
03-26-2010, 06:57 AM
or you might try this: Normal Pass (http://www.trueart.pl/?URIType=Directory&URI=Products/Plug-Ins/TrueArt%20Node%20Library) node from TrueArt ...

83448

erikals
03-26-2010, 07:21 AM
ok, fixed the scene.
(i think the problem was that i used some settings based on an older plugin version)

thanks zarti, bookmarked :] ...maybe for later use. (is there any difference between the two btw?)


.....

erikals
03-26-2010, 08:26 AM
urmf.... now why does it has this blocky artifact...? :/

http://www.newtek.com/forums/attachment.php?attachmentid=83454&stc=1&d=1269613630

dpont
03-31-2010, 01:54 PM
Don't get these artefacts here, using same settings
than your sample posted above,
but tangent space interpolation has been improved
last year.

Denis.

erikals
03-31-2010, 02:00 PM
it looks to be every other one that has the problem for some reason,
..could be i'm running an older version.

wonder, since i have you here, do you get this error?
(sorry, not sure if it even can be done... me and nodes it's like... very newbie)
http://www.newtek.com/forums/showthread.php?t=107868

dpont
03-31-2010, 02:06 PM
Normal Cast node is stricly for Surface NE,
not Displacement Node Editor because there
are no raytracing function available, even
not with LW Raytrace node.
For ray casting a given object and getting
the distance, you could try the Ray Intersect node.

Denis.

erikals
03-31-2010, 02:12 PM
Ray Intersect node... ok, i'm off to try... (beware)

thanks for helping http://erikalstad.com/backup/anims.php_files/smile.gif

evolross
08-30-2012, 02:33 PM
I'm getting strange results from the Normal Cast node in trying to bake a normal map from a displaced/bumped ground plane. I have all my settings correct, my master high-res object is set to "Unseen By Camera", my baking object with the UV map is set to "Unseen By Rays". The normal map is generating, but a good half of it is coming out artifacted.

I have displacement and bump on my high-res object. My low res object is using the Normal Cast node.

The beauty render looks fine, no artifacts in the displacement or bump.

Scene attached.

Sensei
08-30-2012, 02:52 PM
Scene attached.

You must be using not the latest versions..
Here it rendered fine.

evolross
08-30-2012, 04:44 PM
Whoops, in the first scene I uploaded, the low poly object was saved without the Normal Cast node setup.

I'm still having the same issues. Downloaded the latest DP Kit in both x32 and x64. Tried both in 11.0.3, still getting the same problem in both.

Try this new scene, just open, and do a render. It should look like the distorted map I uploaded above.

Sensei
08-30-2012, 04:52 PM
Maybe I don't have the latest.. :p

Either previous and this one looks the same..

They both have Normal Cast node.

evolross
08-30-2012, 05:03 PM
Oh, you're right. I guess it did save correctly. Any who, what could be causing this? It's not configs, as I just tried it on a fresh install of LW 11.0.3 x32. What version of LW are you using?

Sensei
08-30-2012, 05:04 PM
LW v11.0.3 build 2280 x32

Sensei
08-30-2012, 05:11 PM
There is so many weird things in this scene- three lights what for? it's normal baking.. so no light is needed.. Why plug to Color? When baking normal you should plug directly to Diffuse Shading to not have light calculations.. (and no need to set Ambient Intensity to 100%)
Textured Environment completely not needed.

erikals
08-30-2012, 06:07 PM
renders fine here, on 32bit PC, DP_Kit_11_x32.p

not sure what it could be.

evolross
08-30-2012, 06:10 PM
There is so many weird things in this scene- three lights what for? it's normal baking.. so no light is needed.. Why plug to Color? When baking normal you should plug directly to Diffuse Shading to not have light calculations.. (and no need to set Ambient Intensity to 100%)
Textured Environment completely not needed.
Not really. This was my look development scene, so the textured background and lights were when I was setting up the look of the high-res object. I turned all that stuff off for the Normal baking (except I forgot the gradient in the textured background, not that it matters when using the Surface Baking camera if I'm not using radiosity, which I'm not).

The tutorial I watched showed plugging the Normal Cast into the Color input and then turning off lights and turning Ambient Intensity up to 100%. So I was doing it that way and that works just fine on other objects I've tried. Even plugging it into the Diffuse Shading has the same problem. Also turned off the texture background for the heck of it.

Thanks though. Still having the same error. Gonna try 10.1.

evolross
08-30-2012, 06:23 PM
Rendering fine on 10.1. Weird, possible bug? I'm definitely using the latest LW 11 DP Kit x64 for LW 11.0.3 x64.

erikals
08-30-2012, 06:54 PM
probably a 64bit bug then... :]