PDA

View Full Version : Must, stop, drooling. Workstation replacement anyone?



TheDynamo
03-25-2010, 01:09 PM
I know I'll have to make the decision later this year especially once Adobe releases the system reqs for CS5. The old Core2Duo is feeling it's age so I was snooping around on Costco's page and I happened onto this lil beauty.

http://www.costco.com/Browse/Product.aspx?Prodid=11513453&whse=BC&Ne=5000001%204000000&eCat=BC|84&N=4017745%204294899772%204294967022&Mo=3&No=0&Nr=P_CatalogName:BC&Ns=P_Price|1||P_SignDesc1&lang=en-US&Sp=C

I know the mobile clock speed is lower than any other i7 but that plus portability looks really sweet.

-Rob

OnlineRender
03-25-2010, 01:27 PM
CS5 is out in /\pril ???

Andyjaggy
03-25-2010, 01:29 PM
CS5 After Effects will require a 64bit operating system. Just a FYI in case you don't have one at the moment. I think most new machines probably have a 64bit OS loaded from the get go however.

OnlineRender
03-25-2010, 01:30 PM
costco UK site SUCKS

TheDynamo
03-25-2010, 01:34 PM
Well CS5 doesn't officially ship on April 12th but they will be actually releasing details about the product. The only thing I really need to know right now is what kind of video cards it will support. Right now the scuttlebutt involves CUDA enabled NVIDIA cards that range from $450-$4000. Although they were rumored to be adding to that list.

I've got a great little animation station at home, it's the rendering part that um... really really blows. :)

-Rob

biliousfrog
03-26-2010, 03:23 AM
I've got a great little animation station at home, it's the rendering part that um... really really blows. :)

-Rob

If you're purely after render power get a desktop, it'll be cheaper, faster and less prone to overheating and frying.

Matt
03-26-2010, 05:57 AM
costco UK site SUCKS

Top draw the design of that site, I agree!

dsol
03-26-2010, 07:04 AM
Great specs, great price. Though it's a (minor) shame it's Firewire 400 (1394a) instead of 800. E-sata is much more useful and easily makes up for it.
Really looking forward to 64-bit After Effects CS5 - Hopefully the transition to 64bit Windows 7 isn't too painful for those still running the 32bit version (does it need a reinstall?) - This is definitely something I like about the design of OS: Seamless integrated support for both in Snow Leopard (whether you run with a 64bit kernal or not)

robertoortiz
03-26-2010, 09:17 AM
Well for work I need to get a Mac Core system. (not my idea)
Any suggestions would be appreciated.
-R

OnlineRender
03-26-2010, 09:18 AM
Well for work I need to get a Mac Core system. (not my idea)
Any suggestions would be appreciated.
-R



ye, don,t buy a MAC :rock:,macs all got tainted with the same brush in late 80s/ early 90s " there good for visual work and graphics" ...........now there just on par with everything else! although you can always run windows inside OS .my mate just spent 1600 on a new mac , and my laptop can beat it hands down ! mind you his screen is MASSIVE

dsol
03-26-2010, 09:32 AM
ye, don,t buy a MAC :rock:,macs all got tainted with the same brush in late 80s/ early 90s " there good for visual work and graphics" ...........not now ! although you can always run windows inside OS .

Is there an equivalent to godwin's law when it comes to Macs/Windows - 'cos I think you just invoked it :)

If your boss is paying for it, get a nice macPro (though new models are due v. soon) or if he's being cheap - a quad-core 27" iMac.

And to clarify my position - OSX is lovely, Apple hardware is nice (and quiet!) but they have a serious lack of options in their range between high-end and low-end (and yes, their low-end isn't that cheap either!).

Lightwolf
03-26-2010, 09:36 AM
Hopefully the transition to 64bit Windows 7 isn't too painful for those still running the 32bit version (does it need a reinstall?) - This is definitely something I like about the design of OS: Seamless integrated support for both in Snow Leopard (whether you run with a 64bit kernal or not)
Yes, it does require a re-install.
Then again, I had a 64-bit OS running since way before Leopard (sans the snow) ;)


Cheers,
Mike

OnlineRender
03-26-2010, 09:37 AM
/\ LOL might aswell get 8 Core and go all out

dsol
03-26-2010, 09:41 AM
I think it's a gutsy move by Adobe to cut off support for 32bit OS's. It'll definitely cause some loss of sales in the Windows market, but hopefully the benefits more than make up for it for the rest of their users.

Of course Leopard (not just Snow Leopard) can run 64bit apps fine too. Snow Leopard just made more (in fact, almost all) of the native system apps 64bit. And switching to a 64bit kernal is just a reboot away - but amazingly you don't have to do that to run 64bit apps either. It's a really nice design - and a pity that MS didn't use the massive changeover that happened with Vista to implement something similar.

dsol
03-26-2010, 09:43 AM
/\ LOL might aswell get 8 Core and go all out

12 cores (2 x 6core 32nm Xeons) even better. Though I don't know why they haven't been released yet. Teething technical problems perhaps?

OnlineRender
03-26-2010, 09:45 AM
Two 2.93GHz Quad-Core Intel Xeon
32GB (8x4GB)
Mac Pro RAID Card
2TB 7200-rpm Serial ATA 3Gb/s
2TB 7200-rpm Serial ATA 3Gb/s
2TB 7200-rpm Serial ATA 3Gb/s
2TB 7200-rpm Serial ATA 3Gb/s
4x NVIDIA GeForce GT 120 512MB
One 18x SuperDrive
Apple Cinema HD Display (30" flat panel)
Apple Cinema HD Display (30" flat panel)
Apple Magic Mouse
Apple Keyboard with Numeric Keypad (British) and User's Guide (English)
AirPort Extreme Wi-Fi Card with 802.11n
Quad-channel 4Gb Fibre Channel PCI Express card

Final Cut Express preinstalled

13,686.01
incl. VAT

Lightwolf
03-26-2010, 10:24 AM
It's a really nice design - and a pity that MS didn't use the massive changeover that happened with Vista to implement something similar.
Well, on the other hand they got NUMA memory management right ;)

Cheers,
Mike

TheDynamo
03-26-2010, 10:49 AM
I think Adobe might actually gain more market share with this release moving to 64 bit. I know many people who consistently (myself included) run into the dreaded image buffer error. It's only gotten worse since HD became more and more common. The 64 bit software alone is probably going to pull a lot of the people who just kept CS3 and didn't upgrade to CS4.

About the comment that the laptop wouldn't have as much power as a desktop I totally agree. Ironically I'm running an E8500 which when even lightly overclocked, matches the i7 on the laptop in total clock speed at least. I doubt I would see more than a 20% improvement in render speed.

Although seeing a quad core laptop that only weighs 7 pounds with all those bells and whistles for less than half the cost of a base 17" Macbook Pro is just downright amazing.

For my money though I'm holding on a bit longer to see what AMD is going to pop out in 6 core processors since the Intel version is too damn expensive. If I don't like it I'll probably run off with an i7 930.

-Rob

Philbert
03-26-2010, 05:39 PM
My laptop has only one thing over that. An HD-DVD drive. :D

mac
03-26-2010, 09:36 PM
I just installed Lightwave 9.6 64 bit on my new i7 930 @ 2.8 Ghz machine 12Gigs of DDR 3 Ram. Dual GeForce GTX 285 video cards with 1 Gig on board ram.
Asus P6T Mobo

For monitors I am running 2 SAMSUNG T240HD Rose-Black 24" 5ms HDMI Widescreen HDTV Monitor 300 cd/m2 DC 10000:1 and 2 17' Samsung Synmasters

OS drive is a 750 Gig WD with 2, 2 terabit WD drives

Previously I ran XP Pro on a dual core AMD FX-60 with 2 gigs of DDR2, models that approached 400k would make that system crawl. Not anymore :)

Vue 8 Infinite I can throw anything at it and after 20 billion polys it runs as smoothly as an empty scene.

CS4 takes a whole 3 seconds to open and load all plugins ... I'm lovin' my new system. :)

sculptactive
03-29-2010, 08:39 AM
If you really want a perfect LW machine, build one yourself.
The 1st time you do it will take you longer, but after that I cannot imagine it would take more than a couple of hours to assemble. What you end up with will be the perfect machine for your needs.

Monitors... I use the Dell 30". It maybe not the best but it is great value for what you pay.

Macs, though I love them as they are great for many things, I cannot imagine going through the pain again of using them for LW. Well except in a Render Farm setup.

.