PDA

View Full Version : LW 9.6 Plugins -> LW Core

myklgrant
03-15-2010, 03:04 PM
Hello,

I'm new to LW and am wondering if there is any point in purchasing plugins. I assume they won't work with Core. Does anybody know which plugins
offer a free update to the Core?

Michael Grant

juniordebo
03-15-2010, 03:08 PM
That depends on what you are looking to do. Are you looking for Rendering, Animation, or CAD plug-ins?

Cheers,
Junior

hrgiger
03-15-2010, 03:13 PM
LWCAD is currently the only one I know of offering a free upgrade to current users to a CORE version.

Don't know about other developers but I've heard some talk, rumors mostly, about 3D Coat and Kray doing something with CORE.

myklgrant
03-15-2010, 04:24 PM
Rendering mostly. I've looked at FPrime and it seems pretty indispensible but from what I've read the resident renderer in Core will pretty much replace it. I'm also interested in some of the shader plugins available.

Thanks for the heads up about LWCad. It's another plugin that looks like it is a "must-have".

Frankly I feel like I'm in limbo. I don't want to spend money for plugins that will have a limited life, yet my work would be so much easier/better with something like FPrime (and others) as part of the workflow.

Michael Grant

SplineGod
03-15-2010, 09:39 PM
If you need plugins I would do so. Core is a very long way off in terms of being useable. NT kind of shot themselves in the foot annoucning Core so early. I know a few people who have your same concerns. :)

hrgiger
03-15-2010, 09:49 PM
Thanks for your opinions Larry.

geo_n
03-15-2010, 10:46 PM
I wouldn't buy any plugins right now. Though I did buy exrtrader recently because its just something you would use in each project not just some projects, like example I need this plantmaker or effectmaker,etc in this project. Lwcad is guaranteed core ugrade so thats good. For others I don't think its a good time to buy.

JamesCurtis
03-15-2010, 11:42 PM