PDA

View Full Version : XFrog an indirect Plugin to LW?



PabloMack
03-14-2010, 08:13 PM
I just read on the Greenworks website that XFrog can be a plugin to Vue. Since Vue xStream can be a plugin to LW does this mean that XFrog can indirectly be a plugin to LW?

calilifestyle
03-14-2010, 08:28 PM
But Xfrog already has a pluging for lightwave.

PabloMack
03-15-2010, 04:06 PM
But Xfrog already has a pluging for lightwave.

They only list Maya and C4D on their website.

http://www.xfrogdownloads.com/greenwebNew/products/productStart.htm

calilifestyle
03-15-2010, 04:34 PM
Yeah but lightwave one is free.
http://www.xfrogdownloads.com/greenwebNew/support/newtek.htm

PabloMack
03-18-2010, 11:06 AM
Yeah but lightwave one is free.
http://www.xfrogdownloads.com/greenwebNew/support/newtek.htm

It looks like the plug-in only supports simple imports of LWO's. What I would like to do is to do the animation in LW but do the rendering using the superior TG2 rendering engine in TG2 scenes.

calilifestyle
03-18-2010, 12:35 PM
so if your planing to us TG2 then from what i understand xfrog also has a plugging for tg2. so it shouldn't be a problem if you can import your lightwave obj. into tg2 then.

PabloMack
03-19-2010, 06:14 PM
so if your planing to us TG2 then from what i understand xfrog also has a plugging for tg2. so it shouldn't be a problem if you can import your lightwave obj. into tg2 then.

Yes, but can you then animate it from LW? If not, what's the point? I am gathering that TG2's animation capabilities are very primitive. After all, it is primarily a scene building environment for rocks, trees, air and water. Not much behavior there besides wind and other finite element interactions. I know you can move the camera around. But dinosaur statues that blow around in the wind are not particularly interesting. You need a full-featured animation package for that sort of thing.

PabloMack
03-19-2010, 06:29 PM
I guess my original thread name was a bit naive. Looks like you design your plants in XFrog and then import them into TG2 which then has some dynamics for limited animation such as wind. So I am wondering if you can use LW to do the animation of selected imported objects within TG2's virtual space and let TG2 do the rendering. My sinking feeling says "NO". But I am guessing that is what TG2 for Maya and C4D do. Looks like I need to register with the planetside forum and ask there.

calilifestyle
03-20-2010, 12:54 AM
TG2 Has limited support for lw. There is a free plug-in on their support site. Which is from what i understand is no longer being developed.