PDA

View Full Version : Hip Bone connected to my........



VonBon
03-12-2010, 04:25 PM
what is the main reason people put a bone at the hip/pelvis area.

is it just for holding the geometry or control.

i was thinking of not having one since i'm using weightmaps to control
the mesh and am thinking of placing a null as a control to work with IK.

Cageman
03-12-2010, 04:42 PM
what is the main reason people put a bone at the hip/pelvis area.

is it just for holding the geometry or control.

i was thinking of not having one since i'm using weightmaps to control
the mesh and am thinking of placing a null as a control to work with IK.

Usually it is for defining a root from where all bones are parented in an hierarchy, so if you move that joint/bone, all other bones are following it (in an FK-rig that is). When using IK, it's the bone that would be controlling the upper body bounce/swing (with some offsetting to the Spine-bones/joints). With IK-legs, the hipbone would move everything above the legs with it.

Your method is totaly OK and is another solution to the exact same thing. Sometimes, I've seen the hip being weighted to something, but if you already have bones/joints to take care of that, you are totaly fine with a null.

:)

EDIT: However, if someone is going to use MoCap with Motionbuilder or Animeeple, a hip/root bone/joint is needed, since both of them are using a charachterization (internal interpretation to create a standard from which data can be transefered from one thing to the other without the same names or even structure) to work properly.

RebelHill
03-12-2010, 04:54 PM
as cage says... hierarchical root... could just as well be a null.

or a light.

or a camera.

Matt
03-12-2010, 05:20 PM
"Hip Bone connected to my"

Thigh bone?

:D