PDA

View Full Version : Am I crazy? Do/did you guys experince this when starting out with 3D

Chrizto
03-08-2010, 05:24 PM
Hi.
I don|t know if I should post this on a forum or see my shrink, but, thing is, I'm totally far-out.
Is it normal for a beginner like myself to spend LOTS of money on different 3D software packages, and not be able to settle for just ONE? (or two).

I mean, I currently have legal licenses for 3DS MAX 2010, Maya 2010, MotionBuilder 2010, XSI 2010, Mudbox 2010, Lightwave 9.6/Core, Modo 401, Cinema 4D, Combustion 2009, plus the previous version of each, as I've done some upgrades...

I've been fooling around in 3D apps for maybe three years or so, but, still, I'm not able to produce a single complete project in either one.
I know that everybody says that "It's just a tool", but I disagree.

If you're a carpenter, you can do without a water cannon (in most cases).

So, is this Normal? Ok, so I have my ADD and Bipolar Depression (explains the purchases...), but, is this sane?
Have you guys too, been trolling around for some time before "settling in"??

Jeez this is annoying.... (and quite embarrassing)

:help:

ericsmith
03-08-2010, 05:37 PM
Well, you're talking about roughly $15,000 - $20,000 worth of software there, along with maybe something like $3,000 - $5,000 every year for the AD maintenance contracts.

Most beginners don't have the luxury of being able to afford more than one or two packages.

So to answer your question, no, most beginners don't struggle with this issue, any more than most of us computer geeks have trouble deciding which one of our many supermodel girlfriends to settle down with and get married to. :p

Eric

Ernest
03-08-2010, 05:40 PM
When some of us were beginners, there was Lightwave and there were $50,000 applications that ran only in SGI Irix workstations. So we didn't have that problem at all :)

ericsmith
03-08-2010, 05:54 PM