PDA

View Full Version : Best Computer For Lightwave



simonlion
03-02-2010, 03:50 AM
Hello Every-one, please look at these computers and let me know which one is better for working with Lightwave.
Thank you very much
Simon..
GatewayFX6831-01
http://www.gateway.com/systems/product/529668417.php



Dell Studio XPS 8000
http://configure.us.dell.com/dellstore/config.aspx?oc=dxdwnn3&c=us&l=en&s=dhs&cs=19


HP Pavilion Elite HPE-170t
http://www.shopping.hp.com/webapp/shopping/store_access.do?template_type=series_detail&category=desktops&series_name=HPE180t_series&jumpid=in_r329_ad_homepage/popular/2

Soth
03-02-2010, 04:38 AM
HP Pavilion Elite HPE-170t it not i7, do not buy this one. :)

Snosrap
03-02-2010, 06:39 AM
After 3 months of research and contemplation, I went with a Dell XPS9000 i7 920. Itís fast and quiet. I considered the XPS8000, 8100 but by the time I added an i7 860 and ram etc. it was the same price as the XPS9000. I also considered the HP Pavilion Quick-Ship i7 920, but read of motherboard issues and weak power supply. In the end, the XPS9000 seemed like the better buy from a competent supplier, the only negative Ė itís huge!

rednova
03-02-2010, 09:05 AM
Hi there:

This answer might be different from what you are expecting, but it
also might help you.
Many years ago, when I first got lightwave 5, I bought a custom made computer from gateway. It was a real pentium 2 (or 3, don't remember) with 450 mhz speed and 256 mb ram. It was a great computer at the time, and it was SUPER for using lightwave. It was very speedy, very stable, and it was great for rendering 3d animation.
The gateway was amazing for lightwave, and I'll never regret buying it.
Even though now I use a new computer for lw 9.6,
I STILL USE my gateway for animation with lightwave 5.6
The gateway was the best computer I ever bought, and is still good for the older version of lightwave. If I was you, I would buy a gateway computer. But then again, I might be wrong.

Rednova

oobievision
03-02-2010, 10:03 AM
check this site out cyberpowerpc.com when in doubt build it!

simonlion
03-03-2010, 12:29 AM
Iam sorry I made a mistake, The Hp Is this one:
http://www.frys.com/product/6139049?site=sa:PC Computer Pod:Pod1

Please let me know which one is better the Hp or Dell, or Gateway.
Thnaks
Simon

simonlion
03-03-2010, 12:31 AM
HP Pavilion Elite HPE-170t it not i7, do not buy this one. :)

Iam sorry I made a mistake this is the correct HP
http://www.frys.com/product/6139049?site=sa:PC Computer Pod:Pod1

simonlion
03-03-2010, 05:58 PM
Ok iam down to this computers now..
please let me know which one is better fo working lightwave, and video rendering..
Thanks
Simon
http://www.gateway.com/systems/product/529668628.php

http://www.gateway.com/systems/product/529668417.php

http://www.frys.com/product/6139049?site=sa:PC:help:

Soth
03-03-2010, 06:11 PM
Iam sorry I made a mistake this is the correct HP
http://www.frys.com/product/6139049?site=sa:PC Computer Pod:Pod1

I think HP is the only PC with triple channel memory (double check other ones), that speeds up rendering like a lot. ;)

Check if you will get 3y warranty and as long as graphic card and disc size is similar and memory comes not in pairs (dual channel) go for the cheapest one.

hrgiger
03-03-2010, 06:22 PM
Really happy with my i7 system. Even the lower end 920 is still good. Overclocks pretty well too if you're into that sort of thing. Had it now for a year and will probably trade up this time next year for the next good thing.

Snosrap
03-03-2010, 07:13 PM
I'm happy with my recent Dell XPS9000 purchase. i7 920, 12 gigs ram, plenty of HD, 22" monitor, 1 gig nVidia GTS 240 and wireless for $1389. Should be good for a few years.

JonW
03-04-2010, 01:30 AM
920
12 gb
Velociraptor or SSD
GTX260 or 285
Noctua HS

Roll your own, stuff the large suppliers! Or get a small shop to put the parts together as I do, & then there is no issues with rebuilding the computer.

Rove
03-04-2010, 01:57 AM
The MDGrape-3 is probably the fastest computer right now but it won't be able to run LightWave I'm sure. The BlueGene/L on the other hand might but both might be way over your budget.

Just j/k-ing ofcourse, those are probably world's fastest supercomputers right now.
Today's "best" computer will be replaced by better computers within months so just start from your budget and build the best computer obtainable for that money. Yes indeed, build it yourself to save bits of money to get the best bang for your buck. So start reading up on the current best hardware right now!

avkills
03-04-2010, 02:52 AM
I think HP is the only PC with triple channel memory (double check other ones), that speeds up rendering like a lot. ;)

Check if you will get 3y warranty and as long as graphic card and disc size is similar and memory comes not in pairs (dual channel) go for the cheapest one.

The Mac Pros also have 3 channel memory; but they probably cost more than what he listed -- I've heard they make fine Windows boxes also.

-mark

avkills
03-04-2010, 02:55 AM
You guys happy with the render speed with just a single i7?

-mark

JonW
03-04-2010, 03:40 AM
You only need as much CPU power as you can afford to have your customers wait.


An over clocked 920 will render in about 60 % of the time of a pair of W5580 or W5590 CPUs. & it does it at a far cheaper rate ($ per box per frame out put rate)

But if you need to do things on one fast box buy as much CPU power as possible.

The 6 core CPUs should be out soon, but they will have a very hefty price premium.

Here in Australia you can buy one 920 for about $400 or a pair of W5590s for $4000, but you will be the best judge on how much CPU resources you will need to purchase & get your work out on time.

simonlion
03-04-2010, 04:46 AM
also this is Dell, so please let me know either Dell, Hp, or Gateway
Thanks

simon.
http://www.dell.com/us/en/home/desktops/desktop-studio-xps-9000/pd.aspx?refid=desktop-studio-xps-9000&s=dhs&cs=19&ST=dell%20studio%20xps%209000&dgc=ST&cid=47994&lid=1257958&acd=52183,8,0,85566329,729930023,1267702934,,18722 339,350

Soth
03-04-2010, 04:52 AM
HP or (last) Dell, reason: triple channel memory.

avkills
03-04-2010, 10:01 AM
I'd personally go with a Dell if I had to go PC; it is what we have at work and they seem to run pretty good.

-mark

Soth
03-04-2010, 11:18 AM
I have HP at home and I am more than happy, I think it does not matter, IBM is much better then Apple and HP, Dell ale slightly lower. Still I got 3yr warranty.

phillydee
03-04-2010, 11:18 AM
I've been happy with my custom built i7 (720) and have never looked back. I am considering watercooling soon, to get even more out of my i7.

simonlion
03-04-2010, 03:03 PM
Thank you very much guys, would you please look at the Spec's on each one, it seems like either the graphic card or the procedssor is faster in one of them am i right?
Thanks
simon

Snosrap
03-04-2010, 08:47 PM
also this is Dell, so please let me know either Dell, Hp, or Gateway
Thanks

simon.
http://www.dell.com/us/en/home/desktops/desktop-studio-xps-9000/pd.aspx?refid=desktop-studio-xps-9000&s=dhs&cs=19&ST=dell%20studio%20xps%209000&dgc=ST&cid=47994&lid=1257958&acd=52183,8,0,85566329,729930023,1267702934,,18722 339,350

There is some info on graphic cards and CPU's here.http://www.videocardbenchmark.net/ I'm happy with my new Dell XPS9000, however I see they went up in price. What's your budget?

simonlion
03-04-2010, 09:36 PM
HP or (last) Dell, reason: triple channel memory.

which ever computer I buy, I shall upgrade the Ram to 16 Gig.. Also,Could you explain this triple channel memory please
Thanks
simon

Soth
03-05-2010, 05:25 AM
its just faster than dual channel (you put stick by 3 not in pairs).

simonlion
03-06-2010, 02:42 AM
its just faster than dual channel (you put stick by 3 not in pairs).


Thanks Soth, It seems like HP is faster.
Simon

Soth
03-06-2010, 09:34 AM
Best luck and have fun with your new PC! ;)

rednova
03-07-2010, 11:30 AM
Dear Friend:

If I was you, I would buy a gateway computer.
The gateway I bought a long time ago, is still amazing, very stable and fast enough for lightwave work.
Go Gateway !!!

I still love my gateway, never had any problems.

Rednova

simonlion
03-12-2010, 02:48 AM
Well, I bought the HP, and so far is good, Thanks any-way
Simon

hrgiger
03-12-2010, 04:39 AM
I'll never buy another Dell again. Not only do they put their own custom parts in which in a lot of cases can't be upgraded well but they also farm out their support to India where in most cases I can't understand what they're saying and I've had issues trying to make them understand what issues I'm having.

robertoortiz
03-12-2010, 04:58 AM
Guys I need to build a system for After Effects and Lightave under 10k.

The key thing is that it has to be Mac based. (I have no say so other this)

Any suggestions?

-R

Lightwolf
03-12-2010, 05:42 AM
Any suggestions?
Wait until the Apple store is back up ;)

Cheers,
Mike

robertoortiz
03-12-2010, 07:51 AM
Thanks, I guess.

I am not a mac guy, and to be honest I know squat about hardware (I am more of a software kind of person)

Any suggestions of a configuration for a Mac based workstation for Lightwave under 10k would be appreciated.

-R

Lightwolf
03-12-2010, 08:25 AM
Any suggestions of a configuration for a Mac based workstation for Lightwave under 10k would be appreciated.

So what exactly to you need besides the box? 10K should be plenty, I suppose the only question is if you'd need a pro gfx board or not.

Cheers,
Mike

robertoortiz
03-12-2010, 08:51 AM
Amount of memory?
Processors?
Type of system?


As state before I am not a hardware guy, and add to that I am definitely NOT Mac guy.

So any suggestion of high end Mac configurations would be appreciated.

Lightwolf
03-12-2010, 08:54 AM
Amount of memory?
Processors?
Type of system?


As state before I am not a hardware guy, and add to that I am definitely NOT Mac guy.

So any suggestion of high end Mac configurations would be appreciated.
Well, there is only one type of system hat fits the bracket, the dual socket Mac Pro. And everything else pretty much depends on how much you want to spend. Also, make sure to get additional drives and RAM from another vendor, the Apple offers are way overpriced.

Monitors? Video i/o? Will you run projects off a server or locally? How much HDD storage will you need?

Cheers,
Mike

robertoortiz
03-12-2010, 09:15 AM
Well, there is only one type of system hat fits the bracket, the dual socket Mac Pro. And everything else pretty much depends on how much you want to spend. Also, make sure to get additional drives and RAM from another vendor, the Apple offers are way overpriced.

Monitors? Video i/o? Will you run projects off a server or locally? How much HDD storage will you need?

Cheers,
Mike


Hey I am with you on the fact that their hardware is way overpirced, but I am not paying for it.
About the monitors,
We got cinema displays so we dont need the monitors.
Here is the configuration I got from apple:
Mac Pro
$9,849.00

Two 2.93GHz Quad-Core Intel Xeon32GB (8x4GB)None
1TB 7200-rpm Serial ATA 3Gb/sNone
2x NVIDIA GeForce GT 120 512MBOne 18x SuperDriveNone

Lightwolf
03-12-2010, 09:21 AM
Hey I am with you on the fact that their hardware is way overpirced, but I am not paying for it.
No, but you've got a fixed budget, so you might as well get as much as possible for it.
I think Apple also have better prices for government agencies.


Here is the configuration I got from apple:
Mac Pro
$9,849.00

Two 2.93GHz Quad-Core Intel Xeon32GB (8x4GB)None
1TB 7200-rpm Serial ATA 3Gb/sNone
2x NVIDIA GeForce GT 120 512MBOne 18x SuperDriveNone
Personally I'd got with 3x4GB for a start, especially since LW 64-bit is still in beta on OSX and AE is 32-bit as well.
You'd probably want to replace the nVidia board with the ATI, which is a lot faster. Or go for the Quadro (roughly US$1700 last time I checked) which may make sense with Core or other 3D apps, maybe even with current Adobe apps...

Cheers,
Mike

Lightwolf
03-12-2010, 09:21 AM
Hey I am with you on the fact that their hardware is way overpirced, but I am not paying for it.
Oh, by the way, I'm afraid you've got tax payers reading this ;)

Cheers,
Mike

robertoortiz
03-12-2010, 10:00 AM
You would be surprised how much money we save them...
After all we do the work at 1/10 the price of a individual contact.
And the volume and variety of the work is QUITE high.

If we meet in SIGGRAPH I will explain.

Lightwolf
03-12-2010, 10:06 AM
You would be surprised how much money we save them...
After all we do the work at 1/10 the price of a individual contact.
So, not only do you pipeline tax money directly to Apple, but you also undercut the private sector. Nice ;)

Yes, of course I'm joking.... well, half of me is :)

If we meet in SIGGRAPH I will explain.
We might actually make it this year (unfortunately our visit isn't paid by tax money either :D ) ...

;D

Cheers,
Mike

Snosrap
03-12-2010, 10:23 AM
Hey I am with you on the fact that their hardware is way overpirced, but I am not paying for it.
About the monitors,
We got cinema displays so we dont need the monitors.
Here is the configuration I got from apple:
Mac Pro
$9,849.00

Two 2.93GHz Quad-Core Intel Xeon32GB (8x4GB)None
1TB 7200-rpm Serial ATA 3Gb/sNone
2x NVIDIA GeForce GT 120 512MBOne 18x SuperDriveNone

What kind of voodoo does Apple hold over it's followers? $9,849.00. I'm sorry, but that's a joke. Reminds me of $1,499 hammers the US government bought a few years back.

Soth
03-12-2010, 08:42 PM
What kind of voodoo does Apple hold over it's followers? $9,849.00. I'm sorry, but that's a joke. Reminds me of $1,499 hammers the US government bought a few years back.

What is funny that this is the system without RAID, I bought HP Z800 recently and I have two RAID controllers on my motherboard (SATA and SAS). :)

robertoortiz
03-12-2010, 10:06 PM
The price quoted is taken directly from the apple site.
Hey at home I use a PC and love it, I just work at a Mac shop.

VonBon
03-12-2010, 11:17 PM
:question:What is a MAC. ;D

:2guns::compbeati

JonW
03-13-2010, 12:11 AM
I needed a new Mac but just was not prepared to pay the inflated prices.

So I bought a pair of W5580 CPUs 24 gb ram Intel SSD & Velociraptor, GTX260, plus another i7 920 12gb ram, plus a Mac Mini (for the Mac stuff) replaced the ram & HD myself. & still had a stack of money left over. I had far more CPU power than if I had just got the top of the range Mac.

The only Macs worth looking at are the Bottom of the range Mini & the bottom of the range V8 & replace everything yourself from a PC shop & save a bucket load of money.