PDA

View Full Version : ??? = Simulating a planet on the Horizon ...????



zapper1998
03-01-2010, 04:51 PM
Simulating a planet on the Horizon ...

LightWave Scene

A Scene with a planet on the horizon ...
I have fog activated and Planet object properties set to "Unaffected buy Fog"
The Planet object is like 180Mm from the origin far enough away from the fog settings.
How does one make it look like the planet is in the distance ??

Should I render it seperate and composite it in photoshop ??

Trying to simulate a planet in the distance is becoming a head scratcher....

Some Ideas would really help...me ...

Does any body have some tips on doing this ???


Michael

SplineGod
03-01-2010, 05:24 PM
You could texture th planet onto a disk. Desaturate it a bit and use a gradient based transparency.

zapper1998
03-02-2010, 05:09 PM
ok thank you
i will try that
just trying to get the look of a planet on the horizon to look somewhat real ...

shrox
03-02-2010, 06:01 PM
http://www.newtek.com/forums/showthread.php?t=90501

My free MiR space station model includes such a planet horizon set.

http://www.newtek.com/forums/attachment.php?attachmentid=64852&d=1224533217

Rove
03-03-2010, 01:40 PM
You talking about something like the attached example?

To create the example I created a 1m ball,slapped a moon texture on it and then moved and scaled it until the lighting and the interaction with the fog looked right. You can also correct he Fog Level on the Object Properties - Render Tab.