PDA

View Full Version : Will LW CORE have Distributed Network Bucket rendering like Modo?



Curly_01
02-25-2010, 09:48 AM
Will LW CORE have Distributed Network Bucket rendering like Modo?
(The technology that allows you to use all your computers in your network to render buckets on a single frame.) The computer sends buckets over the network to other computers to render a single frame.

Philbert
02-25-2010, 10:41 PM
I think the only people that could answer that are in Hard Core (I'm not) and they have been asked not to talk.

evenflcw
02-26-2010, 01:48 AM
I'm gonna be a jerk and say that's a poorly formulated question. As it could be answered with a no, yet core might have a solution to network render single frames, just not of the bucket-paradigm. It could perhaps be more generic and flexible than that. Btw, I have no idea whether it has or hasn't, what it will or won't have.

Matt
02-26-2010, 02:59 AM
v1.0 will not be a 'bucket' renderer, but that's not to say a future version might not be.

cresshead
02-26-2010, 04:29 AM
also with the SDK i'm sure a bucket renderer could be added as a 3rd party plugin...either a commercial/open source or what not....

Matt
02-26-2010, 04:56 AM
also with the SDK i'm sure a bucket renderer could be added as a 3rd party plugin...either a commercial/open source or what not....

Yep

biliousfrog
02-26-2010, 04:58 AM
Sorry to go OT but is Core/HC/LightWave with Core tech/whatever it's called now a single application at this current point in time or is it the new application + Layout still?

Just wondering as I really would like to be able to adjust/create geometry in the camera viewport.

colkai
02-26-2010, 05:21 AM
Sorry to go OT but is Core/HC/LightWave with Core tech/whatever it's called now a single application at this current point in time or is it the new application + Layout still?

Just wondering as I really would like to be able to adjust/create geometry in the camera viewport.

Layout, Modeller and CORE, so actually, 3 applications.

Soth
02-26-2010, 05:26 AM
I am sure that you will not have to use Modeler too often (possibly only for things like old cools scripts that will not be ported (yet) to CORE).

biliousfrog
02-26-2010, 05:28 AM
Layout, Modeller and CORE, so actually, 3 applications.

ha, that's progress for ya :D

cresshead
02-26-2010, 05:30 AM
4...
layout
modeler
core
....HUB

Soth
02-26-2010, 05:59 AM
No hub, we gave up on this one, remember? So its only 3, but I think that you all just being mean. ;)

cresshead
02-26-2010, 06:21 AM
No hub, we gave up on this one, remember? So its only 3, but I think that you all just being mean. ;)

hey just looks like you GET MORE in your 3d app suite!:devil:

colkai
02-26-2010, 07:06 AM
hey just looks like you GET MORE in your 3d app suite!:devil:

Ba-Boom tish! :D