PDA

View Full Version : Multi-Camera Rendeing

RCFX
02-21-2010, 09:42 PM
OK, I know this may be a pipe dream, but I would love it if Lightwave could have multiple camera savers in one scene file so that 2 (or more) cameras could all render and save frames in 1 scene. Stereo 3D...for better or worse...is huge at the moment and Lightwave's internal tools generally don't do the job on their own. I've been told renderers like Renderman have this type of arrangement so that you get 2 image sequences out of 1 scene with less than a 20% time penalty since much of the internal math is redundant (though I have no direct experience trying it). I'm on a stereo job now and having to render it all twice is a massive pain. Having a separate output panel for each camera would be a godsend. I realize Lightwave's render engine is a whole other animal and maybe the time savings would be far less dramatic, but even if its just from a workflow standpoint it would be a huge asset.

Captain Obvious
02-21-2010, 10:03 PM
It's a breeze to do with tools like Butterfly Net Render. Submit your scene to the que twice, and change the render camera and file output paths for one of them. Job done. Well, it still needs rendering.

There is no way of generating proper stereo 3D without actually rendering twice. It is not possible to make Lightwave's render engine any more optimized for it than it already is.

RCFX
02-21-2010, 10:13 PM
Well I understand that you need two renders Captain.....thats what I do now using Tequila Scream. But from what I've been told, much of the rendering math is camera independant. Therefore, burning 2 sequences from 2 cameras in 1 file should, in theory, be much faster than 2 independant renders yet give you the exact same result. It seems that many other commercial renderers are already offering this. Even if the time savings was minimal, just from an organizational standpoint it would be a huge plus...at least to me.

Captain Obvious
02-22-2010, 03:58 AM