PDA

View Full Version : Temporary rotation



Philbert
02-21-2010, 08:36 PM
Can someone remind me what plugin this is? It would temporarily rotate your entire model so that the selected polygon(s) are aligned with one of the axis, then when you are done it would pop the model back to the position it was in before? I'm thinking it started with a C.

RudySchneider
02-21-2010, 08:51 PM
C-Plane, by Pictrix

Philbert
02-21-2010, 08:52 PM
Thank you, that's the one!

RudySchneider
02-21-2010, 08:55 PM
BTW, probiner posted three videos showing examples of several useful plugins, one of which was C-Plane, here: http://www.newtek.com/forums/showpost.php?p=985982&postcount=18

Philbert
02-21-2010, 09:04 PM
Ah here it is. Not Pictrix but I can understand the mix up. The web page is so old I hope it still works. Sucks there's no 64bit.

http://www.ats-3d.com/cplane/cplane.htm

Philbert
02-21-2010, 09:07 PM
Oh OK if it's used in the video I guess it still works.

Philbert
02-21-2010, 09:25 PM
LOL I downloaded it and went to my "additional plugins" folder only to discover I had already downloaded it at some point.

archijam
02-21-2010, 09:27 PM
LOL I downloaded it and went to my "additional plugins" folder only to discover I had already downloaded it at some point.

I know that feeling .. I think my Legacy plugins folder is bigger than my LW folder ;)

RudySchneider
02-21-2010, 09:36 PM
BTW, Pictrix's C-Plane allows you to return your object to the original orientation after you've altered or added to it. ats-cplane will not.

Philbert
02-21-2010, 10:40 PM
That doesn't sound right. Probiner's video's that you pointed me to show this being done and they point to the ats version. Not to mention if you look at the link I posted for the ats one, it shows two buttons "create" and "remove". My computer just crashed so I haven't had a chance to actually try it yet.

I'm also hunting through Pictrix's plugins (http://www.lwplugindb.com/Search.aspx?At=PICTRIX) and don't see anything like it.

RudySchneider
02-21-2010, 10:55 PM
Oops, my bad. You're right, I had inadvertently stuck ats-cplane in my Pictrix download folder.

Philbert
02-21-2010, 10:57 PM
Yeah I figured the confusion was because Pictrix has a lot of plugins named C_(something).