PDA

View Full Version : tutorial on modelling office building/architecture

webshot
09-06-2003, 11:24 PM
Hello I am just beginning with LW and would like to get my feet wet by modelling an office building (exterior). Does anyone know of a good tutorial or resource to get me started with. I will tackle the inside later but if you know a tut for that also that would be cool. Any help greatly appreciated

retinajoy
09-07-2003, 03:06 AM
Try Dan Ablans book 'Lightwave 7', which has a good architectural tutorial building a Skyscraper. 'LightWave Applied version 6.5 & 7' also has a very good tutorial spread across two chapters.

09-07-2003, 03:11 AM
There are so many things that could be involved in modeling an office exterior that I suspect any tut would either be incredibly long or too loosly general.
It is much more usefull to start modeling in bite sized chunks.
Start by modeling and surfacing things that are actually on the desk in front of you - a slightly open matchbox is a good start.
Then try adding a window to it !
Work on single elements as separate objects- like windows, doors, roof details.
Explore the way you can build things up from sigle flat polys using bevel, extrude, etc.
Practice using 'array' and various stretches to multiply things up - you should never need to repeatedly model the same detail
If you want to work on getting the reflective surfaces right, remember they will be entirely dependent on what you give them to reflect - be it refmap, object, procedural sky or whatever - so work on that separately using a very simple model with just a few surface - if you leave it untill you have built the whole thing you will waste hours waiting for test renders because so much time will be spent rendering the whole geometry.
- same applies to most of you surfaces - work them out on simple objects of the right sort of scale seen at the right sort of distance.