PDA

View Full Version : Quick selection



MentalFish
02-16-2010, 02:35 AM
Has anyone made a LScript to quickly set and get a selection in Modeler, such as: select polys, hit a button to quick-store-selection, do some other operations, and then hit the button quick-retrieve-selection to get it back?

MentalFish
02-16-2010, 05:19 AM
Store current selection:

main {
selmode(USER);
cmdseq("Select Invert");
changepart("MFUnselected");
cmdseq("Select Invert");
changepart("MFSelected");
}

Retrieve the selection:

main {
selmode(USER);
selpolygon(CLEAR);
selpolygon(SET,PART,"MFSelected");
}

Ofcourse this will kill any and all parts assignments that exists.

Is there any way of clearing the polygons of one part? The way I do it with inverted polygons seems a bit hackish.

evenflcw
02-16-2010, 05:25 AM
True Arts maybe? http://www.trueart.pl/?URIType=Directory&URI=Products/Plug-Ins/SelectionPresetManager
Think there is another aswell.

MentalFish
02-16-2010, 05:41 AM
You know me... Mac user and such... thats why I was after an LScript solution, as the TrueArt one is Win only :) Thanks for the tip though :thumbsup:

I found a new solution to it that does not destroy all other selection sets, but creates perhaps one too many over time:

Set:

main {
latestSelection = globalrecall("latestSelection", 0);
latestSelection = latestSelection.asNum() + 1;
selmode(USER);
changepart("_MFQuickSelect" + latestSelection);
globalstore("latestSelection", latestSelection);
}

Get:

main {
latestSelection = globalrecall("latestSelection", 1);
selmode(USER);
selpolygon(CLEAR);
selpolygon(SET,PART,"_MFQuickSelect" + latestSelection);
}

MentalFish
02-16-2010, 08:13 AM
wrapped up and demonstrated in a vid: http://mentalfish.com/2010/02/quick-selection/

archijam
02-16-2010, 09:15 AM
Nice work Petter! :)

Next! Feeling frisky? http://newtek.com/forums/showpost.php?p=986519&postcount=9

(http://newtek.com/forums/showthread.php?t=106471)

probiner
02-16-2010, 11:17 AM
lol, archijam, let him breathe :D

(Boolean Select Connected! Boolean Select Connected! Hihihihi)

I must admit i didn't know TrueArt's SelectionPresetManager, and since i'm not in a Mac i can use it. Anyway, always good to see ppl achieving things around here.

Cheers

Sensei
02-19-2010, 07:13 AM
SelectionPresetManager for Macintosh is in TrueArt's Modeling Pack for MacOS http://modelingpack.trueart.eu
Version 1.5 has added edge support (so it works with either points, edges and polygons).

MentalFish
02-19-2010, 07:21 AM
SelectionPresetManager for Macintosh is in TrueArt's Modeling Pack for MacOS http://modelingpack.trueart.eu
Version 1.5 has added edge support (so it works with either points, edges and polygons).

Cool. How/where can I download it?

zarti
02-19-2010, 10:49 AM
wrapped up and demonstrated in a vid: http://mentalfish.com/2010/02/quick-selection/

nise! that's kinda "prefered-selection-histoire". :hey:

MentalFish
02-21-2010, 08:45 AM
Bump, I bought the complete Modeling Pack back in 2008, am I entitled to the Mac version of the SelectionPresetManager, or do I need to pay an upgrade or something? If not, how/where do I get it? When following your link there I end up on a page with only a download of the Windows version.

Sensei
02-21-2010, 10:21 AM
Sorry, I was out for weekend from office. Mail me your data the same way as system info. Because currently I don't know to who send it.. ;)