PDA

View Full Version : Lightwave 9.6 and Bones from object.



ivanze
02-12-2010, 11:28 AM
I'm following the rollertrain tutorial by proton, and there is no way that bones from object work with my boxes. I'm doing everything I see there. Is there some bug in LW9.6 and Bones from object??

Hail
02-12-2010, 01:18 PM
You are not alone on this man, i had the same problem and thought i wasnt doing things right, so maybe like you said its some kinda bug or something.
Has anybody else here experienced this?

Cageman
02-12-2010, 02:05 PM
Please post a scenefile+objects. It would make it much easier to troubleshoot, since it could be a number of reasons.

ivanze
02-12-2010, 02:54 PM
I recreated the same scene in LW 9.3 and it worked perfect. There is something going on with LW 9.6 and Bones from object I think. Here is the scene.

SplineGod
02-12-2010, 03:14 PM
Heres the way I do it.
I used the free trailer plugin from dstorm to animate a thin segmented ribbon of polys along the path of a null object. The ribbon follows the path and deforms to it.
2. Once the ribbon object is animated mdscan it using clothfx to scan motion of the mdscan plugin.
3. Hardlink the roller coaster to the ribbon object. Heres the result:
http://www.3dtrainingonline.com/examples/roller_coaster.mov

In modeler I used the same spline to:
rail extrude the tracks
rail clone the ties
create a motion path for the null in layout.

ivanze
02-12-2010, 04:28 PM
Thanks Splinegod. I like the way you did that, but I'm helping a friend that made a lot of bones in 9.6 to bend a highway around a sphere and he doesn't want to bend them again. Funny thing is that I exported this scene from 9.6 as 9.2 and imported it in 9.3.1 and the moment it loads it works as it should. He'll try to do that too. Thanks for the help!!

SplineGod
02-12-2010, 05:03 PM
You can still use the same or similar technique.
Once the object is in the right position use Save Transformed to save out a new object in the new position. :)

ivanze
02-12-2010, 09:51 PM
Anyway, it looks like a bug. If someone can post it in the LW 9.6.1 Open beta, please do it with this scene. :)

Cageman
02-13-2010, 05:29 AM
Ok... I just loaded the content up. Here is what is missing; Use Morphed Positions.

To activate that, you select anyone of the bones in the rigged mesh and enable Use Morphed Positions. This will allow the second object to be morphed through the bonechain of the first mesh.

So, no... it is not a bug.

ivanze
02-13-2010, 10:52 AM
Cageman: You are right!!! Thanks a lot man, there were some old threads about this but never this answer. It looks like 9.3.1 has that on by default. Thanks again!!