PDA

View Full Version : Need suggestions for data storage



OlaHaldor
02-11-2010, 07:22 AM
We've moved to a new office with more space (my dad and me are working together with multimedia and video production) and we need to upgrade storage and backup solutions.

What we've been looking at so far is nowhere to be ordered in Norway, so we gotta look abroad. I find it very odd that we cannot find anywhere to buy what we're looking for though. It's not like it's something super special..


We're in need of a rack unit with three or preferably four HDDs connected with eSATA using Port Multiplier (one cable instead of one for each HDD). The reason we want rack units is to save space and be able to tuck it away in one go instead of carrying loads of boxes (like we do now..) which is kind of time consuming and annoying in the long run.

We're also looking for a backup solution with high transfer rates. We have heard of iSCSI, but we don't know how fast this REALLY is. What's scaring us both is that it's only a regular GigaBit network connection - or are we wrong about this? Has anyone tested a RAID over iSCSI?


Any solution, FW800, eSATA or iSCSI - we're hungry for information and first hand experience.

radams
02-11-2010, 07:38 AM
For video applications...I really don't use iSCSI...depends on the entire topology...I would recommend a NAS raid 5 for backups...

check out this link...and this company.

http://www.synology.com/us/products/DS1010+/index.php

Please let us know your whole setup...I can then recommend better storage solutions based on that...for Online storage...to be shared...I prefer SANs...but I also build in Raids directly in my workstations...for local storage.

I have two raids in my main workstation these days...along with SSDs (Solid State Drives).

Cheers,

Tranimatronic
02-11-2010, 07:44 AM
don't forget to buy a fan. We have a similar setup at work and if the fan stops half an hour later the hard drives start misbehaving.

biliousfrog
02-11-2010, 09:14 AM
Perhaps I'm misunderstanding something but can't you just buy a rackmount PC case and build a storage server?

I've got one of these as a render node: http://www.intel.com/products/server/chassis/sr1500/sr1500-overview.htm

All you need is a processor, RAM and HD's...mine has 3 hotswap bays. You could install Samba or any OS.

I've also got a case from these guys: http://www.xcase.co.uk/4u-Rackmount-Cases-s/27.htm

4u, 10xHD bays, lockable front, rail kit included...you just build whatever PC you like, add a RAID card and you've got a solid storage setup. Because it's 4u it's basically just a standard PC case, I've got an old AMD machine I built years ago in it as a render controller.

I'm using one of these personally: http://www.cisco.com/en/US/prod/collateral/ps4159/ps9954/ps9957/ps9962/data_sheet_c78-500892.html

I've set it up with 4 x 1tb drives in a 3tb + hot spare RAID5 configuration. It's a nice plug-in and leave solution but it's not very fast. There is an option to merge the two LAN ports but it seems to be broken according to the Cisco forums.