PDA

View Full Version : Strange HD and Ram issue

jasonwestmas
02-01-2010, 03:21 PM
Can a bad hard drive cause a computer not to boot up, cause voltage problems and give blue screens etc.? My HD just died today after not being able to boot up my computer with 4 sticks of ram.
I had to reset my cmos and use only two sticks of ram in order to boot. After messing with that my hard drive dies, kinda strange.

JonW
02-01-2010, 04:27 PM
Could do, but I’m no expert.

Main thing here is to copy all your data to another HD just incase you don’t have a back up, before you do anything else with the computer.

If you even think you have a slim remote chance of a dodgy HD, copy & replace it, while you still have a chance.

Assume the worst & hope for the best!

jasonwestmas
02-01-2010, 04:37 PM
Yeah, the strange thing was that I had no idea that the problem could be hard drive related till today. Just caught me all of a sudden. I guess I should have thought that it was the HD when I couldn't properly shut down, put it to sleep or boot my computer. Just hadn't a clue.

JMCarrigan
02-01-2010, 05:13 PM
Can a bad hard drive cause a computer not to boot up, cause voltage problems and give blue screens etc.? ...

Oh - you bet! Recent experiences after many years of buying instead of building my computers like I used to, taught me that things have really changed - such as the snafu I went through when I discovered that my new mobo's bios needed to be flashed so it would understand more than 3 terrabytes of hard drive space.

And forget about the - now 3 - WD 500 gig Caviars that went t's up. By the 3rd one, only a few days ago, I knew something was up and recovered in no time at all.

I never even considered the hard drives were giving me grief.

jasonwestmas
02-01-2010, 06:39 PM