PDA

View Full Version : Manual UV Border generation? 'UV Border' curently broken..



Infinite
02-01-2010, 11:40 AM
Does any body know of a plug-in for Photoshop that can re-project out a border of a selection? With regards to baking a set of UV's from one UV map to another.

http://www.ir-ltd.net/uploads/uvborder-broken.jpg

The reason I ask is UV Border's in the Surface Baking Camera panel have been broken since they were introduced due to a bug in how they were originaly implemented, which is very frustrating when you need to bake out a set of textures with a projected border on them to help over come any mip mapping issues in other software packages.

I can easily do the UV baking in another application like 3DSMax but it is a pain having to set it all up, especialy if you have to do it for multiple maps like colour, specualrity and bump etc It's just much faster to do it in Lightwave with FPRIME. Microwave used to be perfect for this but not sure if it is available for 9.6 and wont work with FPRIME.

I was wondering if such a plug-in exsists in Photoshop to do this as a hack? by just boosting out your PSD layer selection by a set amount of pixels? 1,2,5,10 etc

Castius
02-01-2010, 01:06 PM
You can see if either of these help.
Never tried them so i don't know.
http://cg-india.com/Top10_free_Photoshop_Plugins.html

"EdgeWorks : 20 filters for producing edge/contour effects"
Or
"Tiler - This filter will make an image tileable using edge bleeding and blending algorithms."

Infinite
02-01-2010, 01:50 PM
You can see if either of these help.
Never tried them so i don't know.
http://cg-india.com/Top10_free_Photoshop_Plugins.html

"EdgeWorks : 20 filters for producing edge/contour effects"
Or
"Tiler - This filter will make an image tileable using edge bleeding and blending algorithms."

Thanks Castius I will try those. :thumbsup:

akademus
02-01-2010, 02:23 PM
Have you tried using median filter on these?

its probably not what you want but it will fill these edges with the most similar color.

just a thought...

Infinite
02-01-2010, 02:37 PM
Have you tried using median filter on these?

its probably not what you want but it will fill these edges with the most similar color.

just a thought...

Not the most accurate way, but a good clean up. After all these years of using PS I have never used that plug-in. Thanks akademus.

Castius: They werent suitable sadly : (

I am amazed there is no Game Dev studio out there who havent created or used a plugin to grow a selection border, there must be something. :help:

akademus
02-01-2010, 02:41 PM
I'm using it to extract the colour scheme from other images.

Crank the values really high, repeat couple of times, apply over the image to mimic colors.

cheers

Infinite
02-01-2010, 05:01 PM
use PB texture baker my friend :

http://blytools.com/baker.html

perfect edge padding. just load your object and bake it onto itself in modeller. use the multithread version with threads on 3 so your machine wont have all power used if you want to keep working on stuff in bkgd.

YES the LW edge padding bug IS known, HAS been Fogged and mentioned on the beta lists and from what I gather been that wasy for many a version now since its inclusion in LW as you say.

Will NT ever FIX it? who knows but I wish they would and I'm not going to bother repeating why.

Some fantastic tips guys.

Chunderburger, thanks allot for that link it looks perfect for what I need :thumbsup: Only problem is it looks limited to 4096x4096 texture resolution?

zardoz
02-03-2010, 03:13 AM
in this thread we also discussed this:
http://www.newtek.com/forums/showthread.php?t=103275

akademus
02-06-2010, 12:42 AM
This pb texture baker is a fantastic tool. Now I can actually bake something properly.

Thanks a lot for this.

Infinite
02-06-2010, 07:56 AM
pb texture baker is now baking up to 8k textures, pretty cool

That's great news! ace! :)

The other thing I couldnt figure out was how you bake on one object? i.e if you just want to swap a bake from one set of UV's to another of the same object?

probiner
02-06-2010, 08:05 AM
Check here, some heads up for the process. http://www.newtek.com/forums/showthread.php?p=982167#post982167
Basicly you just put a copy of the model in the back ( maybe save a dif file name) Freeze both layers (if you have SubD objects) put one of the layers in the back, load the texture you want to bake and run the pluging.

Cheers