PDA

View Full Version : Hypervoxels Showing Through Fog

Blypht
01-31-2010, 12:25 AM
I'm using hypervoxels to create volcanic plumes, and using fog to fade at a distance.

However, the hypervoxel plumes are showing through the fog at a distance where the fog is 100%. (See the attached photo. The other plume is the light blue, vertical artifact in the upper right quadrant).

I assumed it had something to do with the hypervoxel luminosity, but setting the luminosity to 0 (zero) does not resolve the problem.

Does anyone know how to fix this?

Thanks in advance.

Rove
01-31-2010, 05:53 AM
I assume you also have an HV emitter in the far distance?
Why do you want to have smoke visible through a 100% dense mist? Ah well you'll have your reasons.
I have no technical background and I find out most things through trial and error. I have no idea what's actually causing your problem but I do know it has to do with the Thickness and Smoothness settings. Play around with those to fix it.

Larry_g1s
02-02-2010, 03:41 PM
Come on...this is the Character Animation Tips & Tricks. :D

Rove
02-03-2010, 10:45 AM
Come on...this is the Character Animation Tips & Tricks. :D

uhm ... I assumed his volcano housed a family of dragons who where spitting fire and smoke just before they left their lair :D

4dartist
02-03-2010, 11:31 AM
Rove I think you may have read his post wrong. If you look in the back you can see the smoke/hypervoxels through the fog that should be obscuring it. He wants the fog to hide the smoke, (if I am reading this right).

Blypht, can you show some of your settings for the hypervoxels? Are you using dissolve to fade out the trail? If so, I would try ignoring dissolve, so leave it at 0%, then use a ramp in Luminosity/Opacity to drive the fading of the smoke. It's very important to keep the ramps the same so use the copy/paste feature.