PDA

View Full Version : alpha channel ???



trentonia
01-19-2010, 09:23 AM
I'm doing an animation with about 40 different scenes. I have 2 reflective objects that appear in most of the scenes. In one scene I need to generate an animation with an alpha channel to be composited over some green screen stuff. Is there a way to exclude objects from the alpha channel? I would like my objects to reflect their surroundings but I don't want the surroundings to appear in the alpha channel. I only want the two objects to appear in the alpha.

Sensei
01-19-2010, 12:42 PM
Do you tried Surface Editor > Advanced > Alpha channel Unaffected by Surface option?

nickdigital
01-19-2010, 01:53 PM
You could also try setting your set objects to be unseen by camera in the Object Properties window.

zardoz
01-20-2010, 03:02 AM
or in the object properties (maybe not for this case) select the object and choose 'Matte Object' and the alpha property

trentonia
01-20-2010, 07:35 AM
Thanks for the replies. I don't think unseen by camera will work. If objects are unseen by camera then they won't reflect either. Thanks.

Sensei
01-20-2010, 08:13 AM
Object unseen by camera is visible for rays, and object unseen by rays is visible for camera.

oobievision
01-20-2010, 09:10 AM
yeah if u check off unseen by camera ull still get the reflections as if they where there.