PDA

View Full Version : 2 monitor set up



russlunn
09-04-2003, 03:13 PM
I recently added another graphics card and monitor

The second graphics card and Monitor is the same as the first

the cards are both :

Controller: NVIDIA GeForce4 MX 420
• Bus Type PCI
• Memory 64MB SDR
• Core Clock 250MHz
• Memory Clock 166MHz DDR memory
• RAMDAC 350MHz
• API Support Direct-X®, Open GL ICD® for Windows
• Connectors VGA, TV Out
• 1.0 billion texels/sec.
• 31 million triangles/sec.
• 2.7GB/second memory bandwidth

Features at a Glance
• 256-bit 3D and 2D graphics accelerator
• NVIDIA nView™ display technologies
• Lightspeed Memory Architecture™ II
• Accuview Antialiasing™
• High Definition Video Processing Engine
• TV Out connector
• MX memory crossbar
• Integrated TV encoder

I loaded the current drivers from the Nvidia web site

I there a windows 2000 driver?

or settings I should adjust?

The first monitor works fine and shows the toaster interface the second monitor works with everything but the toaster desktop.

When I drag a toaster vision or any other element it appears on the new screen only until position it fully on the #2 Monitor then disappears.


_________________________________________________

Bushmsn
09-11-2003, 09:44 AM
do you have the lastest direct x 9?

Jim_C
09-18-2003, 12:54 PM
Not 100% sure, more like 75, but I think with 2 cards or one card one onboard you are doing the best you can.
With a single card with dual outputs, you can get full screen recognized and such.
you can try the following, although its proven with dual head not dual cards.

If the card is a dual head, this is easy, if its a single and also using onboard vid or another card, not sure how it works..
however if dual head
rt click desktop, choose properties
click settings, then advanced,
then click the tab corresponding to your card.
Box should slide out the side .
Select horizontal span from one of the options in the slide out box.
Click ok, and close box.
Back at properties/settings box, make sure the second monitor is disabled, highlght it and uncheck Spread my windows...
now highlight the first monitor and drag the screen resolution to 2560x1024. Click ok, apply etc.

should be done.
basically you have to set both monitors up as one big one.
Make sure that Nview option is turned OFF.


good luck.
jim

tlively
09-23-2003, 08:37 PM
Due to PCI bus width if for no other reason I would not even consider adding a PCI VGA card. an MX 460 dual head is just over $100 and a fx5600 with 256 megs can be had for under 2 bills why would you even consider dual 420s? ugh! I personally went with a fx5900 other than fan noise from the cooler I couldn't be happier with the decision.

Tom