PDA

View Full Version : Closing a Hole in geometry



pdp editor
01-09-2010, 06:42 PM
I have a model that I bought and when I subpatched it a few holes appeared because I remove parts of it that did not like being subpatched.

Question: What is the best tool/ tools to close these holes?

Currently I'm playing with the bridge tool, but not having much success because the surrrounding polys dont have the same number of sides.

hrgiger
01-09-2010, 07:47 PM
Its hard to say without seeing the model. Can you post a screenshot? Subpatches can only be made from 3 and 4 point polygons(unless you're using Catmull Clark subdivision).

pdp editor
01-09-2010, 07:52 PM
The holes are under the eyes

Mr Rid
01-09-2010, 08:33 PM
Can you go back to the original model, merge points, triple, and then subpatch?

shrox
01-09-2010, 08:37 PM
Can you weld average points on a subpatch?

pdp editor
01-09-2010, 09:13 PM
I'lll try both, thanks

gordonrobb
01-10-2010, 12:58 AM
Yeh for me it would be to not delete to original polys. Find out why they won't suppatch and fix that.

erikals
01-11-2010, 09:57 PM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=99Lu_h0DfdU
oops, sorry, misread. ignore link.

well, that's a tricky thing, either you retopologize the nearby areas, or you make trigons.
my advice =trigons. then use CC instead of SubP.

(tris are only tricky for anims)