PDA

View Full Version : Maybe a real stupid question



sublimationman
01-06-2010, 06:34 PM
OK, I have an Intel iMac and wondered if this would be possible or am I crazy.

Can I buy a Mac Mini. Design my objects and scenes on the iMac then send them to the mini to render?

Reason, I end up with single frame renders that take up to 36 hours and it pretty much cripples my iMac during that time. I would still like to get other work done (and some gaming in) during these renders. I expect it would extend the render time a bit on a slower Mac Mini but I want to know if this is an option. Basically while the render is going on I want the iMac free of Lightwave.

Possible?
Other solutions?
What if I ran server software on the Mini?

Thank!

SplineGod
01-06-2010, 08:31 PM
You can run screamernet on the remote machine and use it for rendering.

geothefaust
01-06-2010, 10:43 PM
I wouldn't waste the time on a little mac mini. I'd buy yourself a couple of linux boxes and have better render times. I believe screamernet does work on linux.

Cageman
01-07-2010, 12:12 AM
I wouldn't waste the time on a little mac mini. I'd buy yourself a couple of linux boxes and have better render times. I believe screamernet does work on linux.

While that might be true, I'm not sure I would want to manually configure screamernet for Linux (even if I think screamernet is the easiest to setup manually). :D

I'm quite spoiled with Muster (http://www.vvertex.com/muster.html) and BNR (http://www.liquiddreamsolutions.com/web5/index.php?option=com_jumi&fileid=4&Itemid=261), which takes away pretty much all manual configuration. BNR (to my knowledge at least) is Windows only, while Muster is avaliable for Windows, Linux and MacOS.

geothefaust
01-07-2010, 01:21 PM
True indeed Cageman. :) BNR is much easier. I've never used Muster though. It looks interesting, so thanks for the link!


Another suggestion, would be to buy a server or two (or more!) for your rendering. They are rather cheap at this point.

http://www.geeks.com/search.asp?QUERY=server


Keep an eye on that site for super cheap servers. I've been eyeballing some servers to use as a render farm, and with the new low cost servers you can get... It's not a bad idea.

sublimationman
01-07-2010, 02:19 PM
Geothefaust, now that might be an idea. Real funny thing is the geeks.com place is about 8 miles from me. :-)

So if I get a PC server I can hook it up to my iMac and use it as a render farm?

geothefaust
01-07-2010, 04:07 PM
Yep. :)


It works just like any other machine, so you could use any of the network render programs that work on whatever OS you install on them. It's definitely cheaper this way, and you could have some insanely fast render times going, especially for animations.