PDA

View Full Version : freelance help - how much to charge?

Algae998
01-04-2010, 06:03 PM
Hey all,
Ive been trying to get my feet wet in freelance work but have a difficult time trying to figure out how much to charge for the work.
I know this is a tricky subject and there isnt any set standards for pricing on 3d work since theres such a wide range of work. So my question for other more experienced freelance artists is, what do you consider when youre in price negotiations with the client?

Most of the freelance that I have run into is making models (textured and untextured), final illustrated composites and special fx/clean up compositing.
Im fairly new to the freelance world and Im looking for any tips, tricks, personal experiences, things to avoid, etc.
i.e., is it better to charge per hour on certain jobs such as compositing or is it better to charge a flat rate for the entire project?
So far the best advice Ive been going on is, is it worth your time to do the work required for how much the client is willing to pay.

Thanks in advance!

cresshead
01-04-2010, 06:08 PM
my best advice is to set out from the start as a pay by stage payment...
not an overall 'cost' upfront...

so when you finish a stage you get paid for it..then move onto the next stage
previz...once done..payment
modeling..
texturing
animation...
rendering
fx
comping/color correct

it works well for both parties...as they ge what they pay for...if either is not happy they only lose that stage or pay for that stage once complete...

has a built in signoff to it as well which means if after modeling, texturing, animating they change their needs for modeling...
that's a new revised stage added...as that stage has already been paid for and delivered with their thanks.

radams
01-04-2010, 06:45 PM
Hi Algae998,

Are you comfortable estimating the amount of time something will take you?

Some things to think about.
What is your time worth?