PDA

View Full Version : Help with Cyclist

Rhothgar
01-02-2010, 09:24 AM
I've never used cyclist before.

I have a character with a looped walk cycle set up.

All I need to do is have this character follow some live action actors in a 451 frame shot. I'm embarrassed to say this is giving me some problems.

I thought I'd have this done in a very short time but here I am 2 days later pulling my hair out because I can't fix some foot slip.

The character needs to move from point A to point B by a specific time or 451 frames. Actually I only really have to worry about 200 frames or so because the rest of the time he is off camera. Anyway.

The legs are IK and the whole rig is parented to a "MOVER" null that I use to move him across the ground. I've tried to scale the key times for the IK goal nulls to adjust the speed of the walk but I just can't find the winning combination so I'm guessing cyclist would be a good option for this.

I've watched tutorials and searched posts here but when I try to apply cyclist in the motion options to an IK goal the goal stops working. It just stays in one place. If I check the "after IK" box it seems to work but I realized that it seems to be ignoring the controller null.

Any suggestions? Am I doing this wrong? The mover null is moving across Z.

RebelHill
01-03-2010, 05:48 AM
i think you're mis understanding slightly what cyclist does... it plays an animation on one item based off the animation of another... its not really suited to repetetive actions, more so to back and forth actions... nad from what i understand of your situation... its the wrong choice for you here.

I see loads of folks trying to animate this way... on the spot, then use a master "mover" to actually move the whole lot together... and it NEVER WORKS... very, very bad practice.

Ur best bet will be to unparent the ik from the mover null, and fix it all up manually... theres no real shortcut to be had here.

arsad
01-03-2010, 05:56 AM