PDA

View Full Version : Problem with Lightwave work disappearing...



chrisscalf
12-11-2009, 10:28 AM
Hello, everyone.

I am new these forums, and am not very tech savvy when it comes to 3D, but I have been using Lightwave for about 3 years- so hopefully someone can help me with my problem. ;-)

Has this ever happened to anyone?
Once in a while-- I will be working on a character model in Lightwave for about 3 or 4 hours in a sitting, and in that sitting I will have hit shift + S saving increments all the way up to version .005 or so and then close it. Then, I come back to it later (like the next day) and all of those versions from that sitting have disappeared! The only thing that exists is a version from the prior sitting from the day before.

And it gets weirder--
Recently when this happened, it was a model that I was building using an imported .OBJ character as reference cut up into sections put into different layers, in between my actual LW work layers.

Once again-- saved incremental to about version .003 and closed it. A couple of weeks later, I re-open it and all of my LW work is GONE. The only thing left is the .OBJ reference layers, with blank layers in between where all of my LW work was. In all 3 files increments!

Anyone have any ideas?

Chris Scalf

Matt
12-11-2009, 10:47 AM
Could it be saving in a different directory? Have you done a search for it?

I've never had that happen in all my years of using LW.

chrisscalf
12-11-2009, 11:10 AM
Yeah... I did the whole "search for .lwo" files thinking that was (hopefully) it. But nope.

chrisscalf
12-11-2009, 11:11 AM
My theory is that it is not the LW, but the machine.

shrox
12-11-2009, 12:13 PM
Is it saving the file extension? This hasn't happened in a while, but occasionally I used to get that problem, it would save it as "fileX' rather than "fileX.lwo"

chrisscalf
12-11-2009, 01:10 PM
Yeah.The extension is there... And I am able to open the ones that have the .obj layers in them. But as I said, the work that I did between those layers disappeared.

RollerJesus
12-11-2009, 01:26 PM
Are you saving the obj to an lwo before you start doing the incremental saves?

chrisscalf
12-11-2009, 01:38 PM
yep!

UnCommonGrafx
12-11-2009, 01:55 PM
I've seen this. Couldn't replicate and it went away. I'm not sure what else to share. Suffice it to say, it was only for a short time that it had this behavior.

chrisscalf
12-11-2009, 04:27 PM
Ah ha! Even if I don't get an answer on what it is or how to fix it, it's at least good to see that I'm not crazy and someone else has seen it! :-)

Yeah, I can see how it would be hard to replicate or track down-- it is such an inconsistent event. I think it has happened at least 4 times in the last year and a half... And under no specific circumstance. I guess probably the safest thing to do would be if it is a high priority job with no time for error, I will have to save a copy to a travel drive and open it on another machine just to make sure it exists before I shut it down on the main system I am working on.

Thanks.

Tom Wood
12-11-2009, 06:43 PM
I have a stock character with 11 layers. I modify some of the colors and shapes on some of the layers to make new characters. One time I deleted everything in one layer before using Object>Replace in Layout to create the new scene for a new character. From that point forward I had to always import that layer separately, even when it had something in it. Then I noticed that the faulty layer was out of sequence in the scene editor list of layers. When I moved it into place, everything worked again like it's supposed to after that.

Sometimes little things create a twitch...

biliousfrog
12-14-2009, 04:26 AM
Make sure that the Hub is set to autosave every 5mins or so...I've not had your problem but the autosave has helped me out sooooo many times when it has crashed. I've got a shortcut to the LWHub folder on my desktop...it gets used a lot.