PDA

View Full Version : Can it be done!

lcintron
12-04-2009, 08:55 AM
Hey All,
New to this forum. I have a render project due in about 3-4 weeks. I am a graphic designer and I'm wanting to know if I can learn lightwave and complete an interior render in about a month? It's a basic store interior with tables chairs and merchandise. I'm trying to decide if I should purchase lightwave for this project. I was told to check out this product because I can import some items from google warehouse which would reduce time drastically, is this true? Any help and opinions will be greatly appreciated.
-Luis

UnCommonGrafx
12-04-2009, 09:01 AM
Download the demo, register it and get to work. Sounds like you have the same time available in the demo as for this project.
That said, I would ask: what had you planned to do this project without LW? If this is a paying gig, sounds like you would be better invested in using the old and known tool.
No one knows how bright you might be at learning a new app. I've done it before and had mixed results when trying to crash course a program for a project.
Good luck!

Matt
12-04-2009, 09:17 AM
Best way to learn is on a real job, but interiors can be tricky, there are a number of things you would need to learn to pull it off effectively.

I'm sure many of us on here would be willing to help and share techiniques to aid you.

COBRASoft
12-04-2009, 09:51 AM
Welcome!

Certainly watch the video of Matt about linear working and Gamma stuff here on the forums. For interiors, it will help you a lot to get those dark areas right. I'm learning this myself right now :)

Shnoze Shmon
12-04-2009, 09:55 AM
There are 30+ hours of free tutorials on the LW site. Watch a few hours of them and you'll have an idea how fast you can pick up the basics of the program.

Jockomo
12-04-2009, 11:13 AM
Jockomo whispers: run for your life!

StereoMike
12-04-2009, 11:41 AM
My bets are on Jockomo!

arsad
12-04-2009, 12:12 PM