PDA

View Full Version : Iron Sky and Lightwave

Pirk
12-03-2009, 07:41 AM
Hi all!

To introduce myself: I'm the vfx producer of Iron sky. It is a feature film about nazis on the dark side of the moon with a budget of 5-6 million euros. It is a co-production between a Finnish, German and Canadian company. Our earlier film Star Wreck was a zero budget film (www.starwreck.com).

I have been using Lightwave since 1998 when we begun the production of Star Wreck. Star Wreck was almost 100% Lightwave rendered of which I did most the work...It took seven years. Iron Sky teaser was rendered also on Lightwave (http://www.ironsky.net/site/).

Anyways, I would like to open a discussion about using Lightwave part of vfx pipeline - mainly shading & rendering. I know that even some of the latest films have been rendered using Lightwave (only for rendering purposes). What I have heard is that many companies are using succesfully Softimage for animation and exporting the scene to Lightwave for rendering. Softimage and Maya will be part of our pipeline when it comes to animation and modeling.

Because our CGI budget is quite limited, we cannot afford building expensive Maya - renderman pipeline. So, of course when talking about money Lightwave comes to mind first :) You cannot beat the free rendering nodes...and of course I would prefer to use Lightwave because of my experience :)

I think we will render the shots in Softimage with mental ray or in Lightwave. I would be very interested to know if some people here have worked with Softimage -> Lightwave pipeline and could perhaps share their thoughts about it. What are the strengths of LW rendering compared to Mental Ray?

Of course the production is very interested in skilled Lightwave/Softimage artists as well :) Although you would need to move to Finland for one year :)

http://www.energiaproductions.fi/images/gallery/20.jpg
http://www.energiaproductions.fi/images/gallery/15.jpg

cresshead
12-03-2009, 07:49 AM