PDA

View Full Version : Corel in trouble...

Dodgy
11-24-2009, 06:34 AM
http://www.channelregister.co.uk/2009/11/24/corel_vector_buyout/

cresshead
11-24-2009, 07:03 AM
well i hope they stay around as i've been using corel products since 1995..
corel draw, painter.

archijam
11-24-2009, 07:22 AM
+1.

Despite takeovers, etc. they still make great products.

Corel Draw had transparency, effects and even instancing looong before Illustrator. :/

A shame how little competition there is around for Adobe.

Martin Adams
11-24-2009, 08:24 AM
Please don't let this be the end of Painter, or worse, see it sold off to Adobe...

Nicolas Jordan
11-24-2009, 08:43 AM
I own Corel Paint Shop Pro X2. It's not quite Photoshop but it's close in many ways and it meets any photo editing needs that I have. If Corel doesn't stick around hopefully their products survive.

Red_Oddity
11-24-2009, 08:54 AM
I own Corel Paint Shop Pro X2. It's not quite Photoshop but it's close in many ways and it meets any photo editing needs that I have. If Corel doesn't stick around hopefully their products survive.

That and it is only 59 euros, if only they had added a Photoshop shortcut preference setting, that way it would be easier to switch.

But let us be honest, there is no real competition on the graphic and internet design market anymore, Macromedia was step 1, Corel will be step 2. Adobe feels like a classic case of 'market failure'.

biliousfrog
11-24-2009, 08:56 AM
I doubt that Painter will disappear, I suspect that it's the only app that kept them going this long. No matter how capable the other apps are/were (PSP, CorelDRAW, PhotoPaint etc.) they have always been seen as the poor mans Adobe. Painter, however, has always been unique and is a highly respected piece of software...even in the pre-Corel days.

Stooch
11-24-2009, 10:53 AM
i always found it inferior and wont miss it...

csquared63
11-24-2009, 10:59 AM
well i hope they stay around as i've been using corel products since 1995..