PDA

View Full Version : Why does the light go through the wall ?



lasco
09-02-2003, 03:23 AM
Hi there,

Please have a look at the image below,
and if someone can tell me why the spot lights
the wall in the background (and also the ground even if
it's not very clear on this image).
Only a rectangle according to the "hole" in the wall
should be lighted or did I miss something ???

I really don't understand what happens,
this wall is made of 2 faces (as you can see at the bottom)
and besides all surfaces are double-sided.
I first thought it was due to an "irregular" understanding of
this surface (understanded as non-planar because of the boolean
of the hole) buut I tripled all the objects and merged all the points…

Can't imagine it's a bug, I'm sure I did something wrong but what ?

fxnut
09-02-2003, 05:13 AM
If I were you, I'd do a 'merge' on all your points and then triple all your polygons. If it's still happening after that, post back here, and maybe include a scene file and objects in a zip.

Regards

Andy

lasco
09-02-2003, 07:02 AM
If I were you, I'd do a 'merge' on all your points and then triple all your polygons.

You did not read entierly my post… I said I done it.

Well here's the scene.

as you will see it's almost empty, it was actually just
a scene to make some time rendering tests…

fxnut
09-02-2003, 07:35 AM
Whoops! Yep, sorry, didn't notice you'd said that you'd already done that. :)
I'll have a look at your scene and see if I can see anything wrong.

Regards

Andy

UnCommonGrafx
09-02-2003, 07:39 AM
Umm,
Turn on RayTrace?

munky
09-02-2003, 08:09 AM
I think it's the way youve made the model
try this one and see if it's better

regards

paul

fxnut
09-02-2003, 08:10 AM
Hi Lasco,
Hehe! That one kept me guessing I can tell you! But I did find the problem.

To get rid of the effect you're seeing, just reduce the spotlight's shadow color down to black.

It seems that spotlights in Lightwave only consider what falls in their cone to be a candidate for shading with the shadow color, and that in my opinion is incorrect.

Regards

Andy

lasco
09-02-2003, 08:51 AM
wow !
fxnut you rock my friend !

would never have found this myself…

mmm…
is the fact that it works like this correct or not ?
that's not so obvious after all, well let me think about it
2 seconds, what happens when 2 spots crossing for example ?

huh… yo guy, you are right, it's not correct,
everything should be shaded and a mix should result
of crossing shadows…

well congrats for having found,

thanx a lot and thanx also to the others who
tried to help !

fxnut
09-02-2003, 05:42 PM
No probs Lasco, it was driving me nuts so I couldn't stop till I found it!

I started a new thread on it here (http://vbulletin.newtek.com/showthread.php?s=&postid=71901) by the way, to see if other people reckon it's a bug or not.

Regards

Andy