PDA

View Full Version : V-Ray



hazmat777
11-20-2009, 03:24 AM
So am I reading this correctly? For about 400 bucks you can have 10 render licenses of V-Ray that integrate with Blender basically perfectly?

http://www.blendernation.com/v-ray-blender-integration-update/?utm_source=feedburner&utm_medium=feed&utm_campaign=Feed%3A+Blendernation+%28BlenderNatio n%29

archijam
11-20-2009, 03:40 AM
Seems so. Though I wonder how long ChaosGroup will allow that loophole to continue ;)

And it seems that it was developed by a random Blender script developer, Andrey M. Izrantsev using C++ and python.

His blog (russian): http://cgdo.ru/

His youtube channel: http://www.youtube.com/user/izrantsev

Some crazy gadgets there ;)



+1 for CORE please :)

(Whose interface I still prefer to Blender's .. LOL)

hazmat777
11-20-2009, 03:55 AM
I'm no coder for sure, but aren't we meant to be looking forward to C++ and Python in CORE? What's the problem with someone coding in those languages?

archijam
11-20-2009, 04:03 AM
I'm no coder for sure, but aren't we meant to be looking forward to C++ and Python in CORE? What's the problem with someone coding in those languages?
Nothing (once CORE is released) :thumbsup:

In fact I would (rather) pay for the capability, if it meant a well updated functionality.

While most tout that VRay is available for 'X' software, most are ports from the Maya VRay plugin (like this one), which means limited or no support from ChaosGroup, and uncertain results/availability when software is updated.

hazmat777
11-20-2009, 04:05 AM
I imagine the good news is that, if you can do an excellent version of V-Ray in Blender, there's not going to be a lot of problems getting CORE up to speed with whatever render engine you choose. (crossing fingers) :D