PDA

View Full Version : Looking for a plug that could do this:



MUCUS
11-05-2009, 06:26 AM
Going from a single quad poly (or multiple/unwelded quadpolys) to a subdivided poly like this: (on the picture I've do two bandsaw with two subdivisions (1% and 99%)

http://img686.imageshack.us/img686/3285/sanstitre1.jpg

I've already done some abstract object like this one, but doing two bandsaw on each poly is really long:

http://img32.imageshack.us/img32/6227/sanstitre2fl.jpg

So finally here's a video test of abstract form which needs to be subpatched to support displacements:

http://www.vimeo.com/7450905

probiner
11-05-2009, 07:01 AM
I had same request here (http://www.newtek.com/forums/showthread.php?p=893753#post893753)

Basicly what you want is a rounder tool based on percentage and not on metric, right?

Nice video

MUCUS
11-05-2009, 09:09 AM
Hum yes it should been based on percentage, but I'm not sure that it's exactly the same configuration that you have in your thread (interesting thread by the way)

Indeed I'm working with subpatch in order to displace them, but my base geometry is only quads which are not connected (in order to produce the effect you see in the video (oh and thank for the compliment!).

So my workflow is: create the main geometry, select all points, unweld them and then subpatch. Problem is that here I got only circles:

http://img687.imageshack.us/img687/1276/sanstitre2u.jpg

So that why I'm doing two bandsaws on each poly, in order to have quads even when I subpatch the model.

http://img32.imageshack.us/img32/9743/sanstitre2aw.jpg

So I don't know if your technique could work with unweld geometry, cause I can't use rounder on isolated poly (or I'm wrong when doing it)

xchrisx
11-05-2009, 10:39 AM
dont know if this will work for what you are doing, but what about just using subpatch weight to keep the creases and it will still be subdivided without needed extra segments?

JeffrySG
11-05-2009, 12:17 PM
If you can't use edge weighting you could also just do a faceted subdivide on the model a bunch of times. Then subpatch the object. The edges will round out slightly but it will be pretty close to the original and ready for displacement as well. The poly count will go way up but that really doesn't matter as you will be subdividing it quite a bit for displacement anyway. You'll just need to subdivide it slightly less at render time.

Danner
11-05-2009, 03:20 PM
how about just doing a few bevels with no height?

probiner
11-05-2009, 03:26 PM
Sweet stuff in the video :D
The need for the Unwelded edges is because the polys are supossed to come apart with the displacements?

Here's a possible (REAALLLL STUPID AND A BIG WORKAROUND) solution to automate that task a bit more.

I used Feeney's model to illustrate this:

Layer1: the model
Layer2: Unwelded everything and set Subpatch Weight to 100%. Make sure you have no triangles or you going to have trouble with subpatch. If you GOT TO have those triangles this need to be made with Catmull.
Layer3: Freeze at a high level, i used 9, for example(this will be your percentage control). Notice that the first 2 edges will be tighter to the edge of the polygon.
Layer4: Still Unwelded, Select all polys, Select Outline Points, Invert, Sel Switch to Polygons, Create a surface (green:center poly). Invert Polygon selection, create a surface (red: Margins). Still Unwelded, select 1 Polygon from Point Statistics, Expand selection, Sel Switch to Polygons, create a surface ( blue: Corners).
Layer5: Select each surface and Merge Polygons (Corners doesn't need).
Now to clean up the points, select Corners surface polygon, Sel Switch to points, Invert, Delete. Now you can Merge.

(optional)Layer 9 and 10: This is was i did in the other thread; use the object you just got and run Mesh Reknitter plugin. Do the same for a copy of the original model, Freezed at subpatch level 3 with no SubP weight. Use background to morph and thats how that gets animated in Layout, over Nodal Displacement.

This might require a video no? ehehe. But doesn't look worth it. Like, 5 ppl like this subject :D

Cheers

http://www.newtek.com/forums/attachment.php?attachmentid=79039&stc=1&d=1257459932

This would be so much easier with a tool that could cut like Subpatch Freeze with percentage input

probiner
11-06-2009, 07:17 AM
woops i dont know why but image was removed in last post.
By the way if you want them unwelded skip that step.
http://www.newtek.com/forums/attachment.php?attachmentid=79051&d=1257516984

MUCUS
11-07-2009, 04:39 AM
Probiner thank you for you method! I have to say that it's a bit complicated (and I have to choose level 20 subpatchs before freezing in order to find what I have with bandsaw so next operations are "a bit" long too) but well, it's works! (The need of unwelding is just to allow each piece of the mesh to be a bit separated from the other during the animation)

I've done a few test with only subpatch weight and multiple subdivisions, but when animating the results are not correct: (left is subdivided method / right is bandsaw method)

http://www.vimeo.com/7468402

Anyway thank you all -specially probiner- for helping! :thumbsup:

serge
11-07-2009, 08:08 AM
Here's what I would do. It still contains some manual work, but perhaps somebody has an idea to automate things more.

> Create a new instance of your object. This will later be used as a morph.
> Rotate each poly to ground (Rotate > More > Rotate to Ground, shortcut F4). (Unfortunately this doesn't work for all polys at the same time.)
> Adjust the polys so they all have the same size and are aligned on top of each other. The easiest way might be to grab for example all top left points and with the "Info button" give them the same coordinates. Do this for all 'point groups' (top left, top right, bottom left, bottom right).
> Load this object in a new layer of your original object and use "Bkg to Morph".
> Open the morph and use the "Cut" tool to create the cuts.