PDA

View Full Version : My house's toilet bowl--sorry double posting

southparx
08-30-2003, 07:18 PM
hi friends,
i just finished a scene for fun, based on the idea of my toilet bowl... well in reality it's... even dirtier :)

anyways, i'm a newbie lightwaver, and currently taking a class for it, and i really wanna improve my skills....

so please...HIT ME HARD! all kinds of critiques are welcomed!
i don't need useless flatters... thanx really appreciate it.

take care

btw, sorry for the previous post, coz i forgot to attach the image.

richpr
08-30-2003, 09:48 PM
Gross ;)

It's a bit too dark and the scale on the wall texture seems off... so does the bump and spec...

The seat seems to small too...

Looks a bit like a prison... ;)

CiaranM
08-30-2003, 11:35 PM
Looks good. I like the back bit of the toilet apparatus (whatever the thingy-magig is called), the texture there lokks well nice.
Here's what I would do though:

$ - the toilet bowl is maybe a bit too shiny and clean looking. Try breaking up the specular by making a specular map (or a procedural). Speculars often look best when they are not so perfect. Also try adding a bump texture around the rim of the bowl to suggest all kinds of gunge that may be down there. Copy that bump channel and paste it into the colour channel and give it an appropriate colour (.....brown maybe). You can use a weight map as an alpha layer if you want to limit the grunge to the rim of the bowl.

$ - The background wall. The discontinous nature if the texture is kind of disconcerting. If you UV map the polygons so that the two faces of the wall are next to each other, you will be able to paint a textue that is a little more continuous, particularly along that edge. Also, it looks as if you are using a prettly low resolution image for the texture. This gives the wall a slightly blurred appearance, relative the the finer texrures of the toilet bowl. Try using a sharper image if you can.