PDA

View Full Version : Help with tedious UV work please



Emmanuel
10-19-2009, 01:50 PM
Hi fellow Wavers !

I hapen to look for a tool that helps me with UV mapping.
I am mapping a little blocky village, and I want to select strips of quads and have them spread in the UV window from 0-1 automatically, so that I can quickly put the same texture on a row of buildings (which are actually just blocks) without having to select each quad and stretch it to the UV borders.
Here is an image.Thanks for any suggestions !

JeffrySG
10-19-2009, 02:00 PM
If they are single polygons I think you can select them all and then go to:
map - texture - polymap - new quad polygon map

This will make a UV texture for each polygon - all the same. Try it to see if it works.

Emmanuel
10-19-2009, 09:40 PM
Cool, thanks ! Thats getting me a lot further !:thumbsup:

Emmanuel
10-19-2009, 10:02 PM
I also found this plugin: UV_bandmapper (http://downloads.laffeycomputer.com/bandmapper/), via Flay (http://www.flay.com) !

Emmanuel
10-19-2009, 10:51 PM
SuperUV (http://www.respower.com/page_superuv) is very handy, too !

biliousfrog
10-20-2009, 04:03 AM
UV spider is included in Lightwave, select two adjacent polys, run the plugin and it UV's the row of polys from 0-1...ideal for kerbs ;)

Just spotted that you're on 7.5...I don't know when UV spider was introduced, possibly during 8x

Sekhar
10-20-2009, 09:32 AM
If they are single polygons I think you can select them all and then go to:
map - texture - polymap - new quad polygon map

This will make a UV texture for each polygon - all the same. Try it to see if it works.

Yeah, but it orients the UV differently for some of the polys (at least on LWHC 64 bit), e.g. see attached. Any idea why?

JeffrySG
10-20-2009, 10:30 AM
Yeah, but it orients the UV differently for some of the polys (at least on LWHC 64 bit), e.g. see attached. Any idea why?

I'm not sure why. It might have to do with the point order of the polygons when they are created.