PDA

View Full Version : Help!



tweezy
10-17-2009, 12:40 PM
Hi, whenever i load up ANYTHING Lightwave wise (Im using 9.6) it crashes on startup, whenever im trying to use Modeler or Layout etc...

I get the error

"modeler.exe has encountered a problem and needs to close. We are sorry for the inconvenience."

Im using Windows 32.bit on Service pack 2.

If anyone has a fix, please tell me, this is really pissing me off as i need it to practice my skills for my college course...

thanks!

~Johno

RudySchneider
10-17-2009, 01:07 PM
It might help if you describe your system setup a bit more: memory, video card (latest drivers for same?)

tweezy
10-17-2009, 01:09 PM
2.25GB Ram, 512MB Ati x1650 graphic card, I have the latest drivers for everything (Had to update to play Mortal Online) 320GB HardDrive, 1.7GHz Processor

Also, it worked for like a week, now it just crashes...

Im updating my Comp to Service pack 3 to see if it makes a difference.

JamesCurtis
10-17-2009, 03:41 PM
Have you done a memory check of the ram chips?

opensource
10-17-2009, 04:08 PM
For some reason I get the impression it's not hardware ! , try this ....

open modeller let it run /crash .keep it active then run it again and see what happens .

R.Feeney
10-17-2009, 05:14 PM
Or you could try deleting the cfg files.

Marshun
10-17-2009, 05:45 PM
Have you tried reinstalling 9.6?

tweezy
10-18-2009, 04:11 AM
yes, i just reinstalled it yesterday, still didn't work so i came here. So you think it could be my ram? Im making a new computer to the moment anyway, so if it is my ram, ill just wait, or buy a new chip, only cost about 10 for a gig.

How do i delete the .cfg files?

R.Feeney
10-18-2009, 05:21 AM
I cant recall where the default location for the configs are but if you run a search for LWHUB9.cfg you should find the folder where they are all stored. Back them up first if you like and then delete all the .cfg files and try running modeler again.

Andrew March
10-18-2009, 05:26 AM
So, why aren't you running 9.6?

R.Feeney
10-18-2009, 05:31 AM
In the first post he says that he is running 9.6

tweezy
10-18-2009, 05:46 AM
ive made lightwave into a portable app so i can use it on my memory stick, so ill just wait untill ive finished making my new computer, then try and use it again.

thanks for all your help guys, but i think ive got hardware issues :(

R.Feeney
10-18-2009, 05:56 AM
Good luck with that.