PDA

View Full Version : 3D training vids



Eroneouse
10-17-2009, 12:30 PM
Hi all its been a little while since I last posted. So I took the plunge and bought lightwave but i have been trying to access the newtek 24 hour training vids but every page I try to load up is full of boxes with lots of F's and D's in them I cut and pasted a small selection of it...

��������+���������[email protected]��������+���������[email protected]������ ��+���������[email protected]��������+���������[email protected]��������+�� �������[email protected]��������+���������[email protected]��������+�� ��

Can anyone tell me what I am doing wrong and if possible point me towards a solution so I can access this content properly please

Edit - Just a footnote but I have seen this before when trying to access web pages with oriental characters instead of the usual English types my eyes are used to.

JeffrySG
10-17-2009, 12:39 PM
Not really sure why it's doing that for you but you can access them here:

http://www.newtek.com/forums/showthread.php?t=77002

http://www.newtek.com/forums/showthread.php?t=90089

http://www.newtek.com/forums/showthread.php?t=89494

It's easier to right-click them and save them to the HD too just fyi.

geo_n
10-17-2009, 12:39 PM
http://www.newtek.com/forums/showthread.php?t=77002
need quicktime.

Eroneouse
10-17-2009, 01:05 PM
Thank you both, quicktime keeps trying to update itself but I keep knocking it back as it wants to install toolbars I dont want So I will follow the links from JeffrySG and update my quicktime thingy as per geo_n's advice :)

Edit - JeffrySG just followed you're first link and same thing loads of F's and D's so its update quicktime time I shall come back and post my success or failure from that.

archijam
10-17-2009, 01:18 PM
http://www.youtube.com/user/LightwaveTuts

Eroneouse
10-17-2009, 01:33 PM
JeffrySG links followed and quicktime updated to latest version but same result a page full of lil F's n D's where the training vids should be. Archijam thanks for the utube link I shall head that way until I can figure out whats going on with the web page display.

Edit - Utube links display just fine and dandy thanks again :D

JeffrySG
10-17-2009, 01:57 PM
Are you running IE? or Firefox? IE sucks for quicktime many times. YouTube is not the same quality as the original QT files but it's a good alternative.

Eroneouse
10-17-2009, 02:42 PM
I am browseing useing firefox, have been useing firefox for so long I forget what IE stands for :)

JeffrySG
10-17-2009, 02:48 PM
What pages are you getting the weird letters? The main pages or when you click on the videos? Are you right clicking and saving target as?
Just figgured I'd ask. :)

Eroneouse
10-17-2009, 02:58 PM
All of the links on the following URL show up just fine...

http://www.newtek.com/forums/showthread.php?t=77002

the page loads nice n easy with no errors but when I click on any of the links on said URL then thats where the fruityness begins, the pages that load from the links have the wierd lil F's n D's all over them, occasionally a few words of English are there most of it seems to be the word apple.

Also I am running on a PC with win XP pro SP3 dunno if thats relevant or not but any info you want on my system just ask.

Edit - I just tried to right click and save as on the links on the page that loads fine but theres no file type to save as showing up in the file type dialogue box.

JeffrySG
10-17-2009, 09:53 PM
Just try to save them as "name.mov" and see what happens. They are all mov files.

Eroneouse
10-18-2009, 07:55 AM
Just try to save them as "name.mov" and see what happens. They are all mov files.

I just tried this suggestion but the dialogue box input boxes, the file name box has the correct file name displayed, the file type box has " All Files " displayed and neither delete nor backspace will clear the " All Files " dialogue.

-EsHrA-
10-18-2009, 02:51 PM
seems you have an application set to open certain files.

(open with... ) and/or (file types assigned..)

as if 'notepad' is opening mov files...

check those and maybe just a FF reinstall will fix it..


mlon

Vong
10-18-2009, 03:51 PM
Make sure you have the FireFox Quicktime plugin, otherwise FF will try to open the .mov files as a web page and you get the funkiness.

Of course, I'd suggest right clicking and saving as, much better than trying to stream the QT file. Save type as shouldn't really matter because if Windows doesn't recognize it, when you first try to open it, it will ask you what program is used to open it. If it's recognizing it as "All Files" just go ahead and let it save.

Eroneouse
10-20-2009, 07:32 AM
I have FF updated and quicktime updated as good as I can get them too and the dialogue boxes are still not showing the correct text however I did just DL them anyway regardless of that and once they hit my drive they are indeed QT files and play just fine. Thank you to all for the advice and pointers much appreciated.