PDA

View Full Version : "LWcore" plugins

VonBon
10-13-2009, 05:11 PM
i'm currently on the 12th day of SAMS learning C.

i've heard that the new core will be using python and was wanting to
know if i'm wasting my time learning "C".

i was thinking C++ but a friend of mine told me to learn "C".

if i learn "C" will it be alot for me to cross over to python?

hrgiger
10-13-2009, 05:18 PM
CORE is written in C++ so I'm not sure how useful it would be to learn C. Here's a good page that sums up python pretty well: http://hetland.org/writing/instant-python.html

KillMe
10-13-2009, 05:20 PM
core is c++ and currently python scripting but apparently through something called swig can use other languages

lightwave as it stands now is c though

got no idea what it all means though as i'm no programer

WCameron
10-13-2009, 05:25 PM
I've always been told a good grounding in C would be a good thing to moving on to C++....

- Will.

GregMalick
10-13-2009, 06:18 PM
i'm currently on the 12th day of SAMS learning C.

i've heard that the new core will be using python and was wanting to
know if i'm wasting my time learning "C".

i was thinking C++ but a friend of mine told me to learn "C".

if i learn "C" will it be alot for me to cross over to python?

If my plan was to use python, then I'd be spending time learning that.
But maybe you have other uses in mind for those C skills.
If not, go to the library and get some python books.

JCG
10-13-2009, 06:49 PM
If you're using the "Teach yourself C in 24 hours" book, I'd say that absolutely everything you see in the first 12 days will translate almost directly into C++.