PDA

View Full Version : Teahing Lightwave



wulfie
10-06-2009, 04:08 PM
HI,

Does anyone here know if Lightwave can be run from a server? I have been doing animation workshops in schools and for teachers using Lightwave. This question has come up more than once. If a school wants me to actually teach a class using Lightwave on student computers that are all networked to one computer. Do I have to physically install the program on all the computers? or can they run it from the server given that the server has a licensed and properly dongled LW installed on it.

This is not about the schools financial resources. This is about how protective they are of their computers. I raised the money to outfit computers with animation programs for one school last year but in the end
they didn't want to put it on the student computers. They are used for testing. Testing rules here.

So any help here will be greatly appreciated as always!!

Bev

BeeVee
10-06-2009, 04:17 PM
Hi Bev,

You can run the software from the server, but you'll still need a dongle on each machine I'm afraid.

B

wulfie
10-06-2009, 05:22 PM
Actually that might be good news BeeVee. I have plenty of Lightwave seats. (At least 20) So I have plenty of dongles......but they all have different dongle IDs. Not sure how that works. But if by having a dongle in each machine, I can circumvent the actual installation of software.....then that's GREAT news. Or if I have to purchase dongles with the same ID then that at least allows for the possibility of getting around their test anxiety.

Thanks for getting back to me so quickly as I have a teacher inservice this Friday! They are apt to want to know this too.

Just spreading the Lightwave here.

Bev

Silkrooster
10-06-2009, 10:23 PM
More power to you...

archijam
10-07-2009, 12:09 AM
I have seen dome people install the dongle on a USB card within the machine chassis, which is a no nonsence way to avoid stealing..

In this case it sounds like you could need a different license.key file for each workstation.

Soth
10-07-2009, 12:43 AM
I am running LightWave from network. You still need a dongle and drivers in each machine. But, still, making all those small updates is so much easier for me now.

BeeVee
10-07-2009, 01:35 AM
LightWave reads multiple license.keys in a single license.key file, so you're sorted.

All you need do is create a license.key file with your text editor, being sure that it will save as pure ASCII text and not RTF or anything, then put in separate lines for each dongle, so you end up with someone similar to this:

2307-4758-1456-4118 open beta for 23587
8835-2681-1114-1688 permanent for 23587
6587-9621-6321-8889 permanent for 16789
6872-9873-4161-7754 permanent for 16190
6587-3652-6570-9873 open beta for 33874
3541-9874-3268-6110 permanent for 16190

and so on. You can have lots of entries in a single key file, which will mean that it no longer matters which dongle is plugged into which machine - with two provisos. 1. commercial plugins are locked to a single dongle number, so that dongle will need to be present and 2. configs will be individual to each machine.

B