PDA

View Full Version : Newtek folders?

pdp editor
10-03-2009, 04:16 PM
I was cleaning up my computer the other day and discovered that LW stores thumb nails of every image, video, web page, screen shot, program I ever opened in thousands of my folders. my photo folder- I'm a photographer- had over 600'000 of these LW generated images.

these files are so small and conveniently located that if a hacker got on to my machine he will hit the biggest jackpot ever. My total history conveniently packaged and ready for download. How can I turn this hostile feature OFF!?

I'm deleting them folder by folder and my count is over 10 million thus far;
WTF!

R.Feeney
10-03-2009, 04:34 PM
That seems rather odd, I have never experienced Lightwave doing anything like this.
Are you sure LW is the culprit?

pdp editor
10-03-2009, 04:43 PM
here is a better screen shot with the file I believe LW generates. since this is a "File0032.JPG.NewTekInfo" file it cant be uploaded

R.Feeney
10-03-2009, 04:52 PM
Do you by any chance have a videotoster, from what I found it is related to that
http://www.videotoasternt.com/forums/read.cgi?11956
http://www.newtek.com/forums/showthread.php?t=32359

Or speededit may do something like that too.

Hieron
10-03-2009, 05:12 PM
I'm deleting them folder by folder and my count is over 10 million thus far;
WTF!

Feeney seems to have answered what they are..
Why don't you just do a systemwide search for those filename extensions and delete them in 1 go? Not like those extensions are very common for anything other :)

pdp editor
10-03-2009, 05:30 PM
I dont have videotoster and I remember seeing a thread about these somewhere here but I cant find it. There are so many of these files my computer locks up for hours. I'm letting it run at night while I sleep.

R.Feeney
10-03-2009, 06:15 PM
The only referance to this in relation to lightwave that I can find is
http://www.newtek.com/forums/showthread.php?t=34920